We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury”
Review of Guesthouse 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse 17
Ranked #153 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our first two nights in Europe were spent in this guest house, and it was perfect! Stefan and Barbra were excellent hosts, they were there when needed but not hovering whenever we came and went.
The breakfast was delicious and plenty to choose from (with little pieces of chocolate to pick at as you chose... mmm).
The guest house has use of a garage, but this is a little expensive and perhaps taking advantage of the guests staying here; however, I suppose you can't put a price on peace of mind for the safety of your car when travelling abroad.
We had the first room at the top of the house; just big enough for the two of us - not a lot of space and perhaps removing the small side table and moving the chest of drawers to the side would have given a little more space (somewhere to sit late in the evening with a glass of wine or a warm drink would have been nice); however, generally clean and very tidy (a feather duster around the skirting boards would have been nice).
However, all in all, I would definitely go back and we have told everyone we know to try and get in here if they visit Bruges..
Thank you both for a great two days....

Room Tip: Check out the price of the car park approximately 200 yards down the road before agreeing to pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC_derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

fantastic location just a few metres from the canals and a 2 minute walk from the main square with all restaurants, bars, cafes and shops. beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. bed is extremely comfy and chocolates in the room on arrival were a lovely touch. This guesthouse has so much going for it. as well as its fantastic location and its quality, there is parking right outside the door - in fact we had the use of a private garage throughout our stay. rooms are lovely and have air-conditioning, although the location on a tree-lined street is quiet enough to have the windows open all night without disturbance, despite being so close to the centre. The shower is amazing!

wifi was free and good, breakfast had a vast selection of continental type breakfast goods, and the breakfast room was beautifully styled. although the owners were away during our stay, their relative who was looking after the place was very helpful and friendly.

only niggle was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but cafes are abundant nearby.

we loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again - its well worth the price. what a gem of a find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The location is very, very good, the hotel makes you feel like home, great bed, big room, good quality breakfast, and the owners are very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very attentfull owners, clean, warm and cosy B&B. Excellent situation in city center. You feel at home. Perfect breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Yes this is a guesthouse, not a hotel (the hint's in the name). But unless you specifically need hotel facilities, this is probably everything you want for a short stay. Super location with parking outside - a huge advantage in Brugge. Our room was plenty big enough although the shower room was a bit of a squeeze. The rooms have been styled to within an inch of their lives but very comfortably furnished. The young couple who own the place have really got good service figured out. Breakfast, included in the price, was excellent. Overall, would highly recommended Guesthouse 17.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magellan762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale az
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This guesthouse is extremely charming. We were given a room at the top floor (only 3 rooms) and it was beautiful, smelled nice and had a flat screem tv. Very cozy feeling due to the slanted ceilings and window overlooking the canal with boats. Very nice and spotless bathroom with fab water pressure. Most of all we enjoyed the breakfast for the select of food and the quaint atmosphere. The owner, you could tell, was so creative and loved her little guesthouse even made little still life vignettes of the pears and fruit and pastries. The silver service was so fab and all in all the breakfast room was furnished elegantly with attention to detail. Dont miss staying here it wreaks of Brugge in the most sophiscated yet relaxing way. One of the best places to stay in Brugge.

Room Tip: top floor is roomy and beautifully furnished and a virtual catbird view of what's going on at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seri0ustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This bed and brekfast is advertised on the internet as a 4 star holed. It is very nice but far from offering a hotel service. Beware of thin walls, and no, there is no view on the canals.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertyuiop70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#68 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#49 of 97 in Bruges
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse 17

Property: Guesthouse 17
Address: Pandreitje 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing