We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, right in the center of Bruges”
Review of StJacobs B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
StJacobs B&B
Ranked #66 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This B&B was recommended to me by a colleague. And i must admit it was absolutely great. Thierry, the owner, has created a beautiful place. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served every morning in the main room, with plenty of choice of bread and things you might wish for.

The B&B is located very centrally, just a five minute walk (approximately) to the main Market Square.

One tiny point of attention: it's an old building, so you hear people talking in the hallway. The B&B rules request peace and quite, so this is not that much of a problem. When we were there everybody kept to the rules :)

If you like a quite place and enjoy luxurious surroundings, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthijsvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed with Thierry in September 2012 and took up two of the three rooms. The inn is tastefully decorated, the breakfast was amazing, and the rooms were very spacious. That being said, we couldn't help but feel somewhat like intruders by how many times the inn keeper reiterated the areas which were to remain private in the inn. We discussed this with another couple who felt the same. Maybe we are a little sensitive because we have stayed in so many inns in Europe and fantastic experiences. Hint: If you enjoy a little less touristy areas but still want to experience Bruges, stay in neighboring Ghent and take a 15 minute train ride to Bruges for a day trip. We loved staying in Ghent so much more. Overall Theirry runs a beautiful B&B but we just felt it could have been a little more welcoming!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffanie Presla... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A wonderful venue in a quiet, central position. Thierry was a great host, the accommodation was superb, with fantastic breakfasts. The whole experience far exceeded our expectations!! We would love to be back in the future!

Room Tip: All three rooms appeared to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

What a great way to start our 3 months of travel in Europe. Thierry is an amazing host and he warmly welcomes you to his home. Everything is fantastic. Possibly the best breakfast in all of Europe. We will be back. We loved St Jacob's.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RjSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We visited Brugge for a weekend family celebration and stayed at St Jacobs. The owners made us feel incredibly welcome and helpfully suggested lovely places to eat in Brugge. Unfortunately for us we had not anticipated how important it is to book if you want to dine out in Brugge on a Saturday evening, in spite of the many tasty places to eat.

The rooms were spacious, warm and beautifully decorated, a reflection of the rest of the B and B which the owners have thoughtfully renovated to a very high standard. The breakfast was delicious and it was a wonderful surprise to find the mini bar stocked with the (very reasonably priced) yummy local beers from Brugge's brewery - also worth a visit, the tour guide was very funny.

We all agreed that we would highly recommend this as a fabulous place to stay if you are planning to visit Brugge. Many thanks!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms and my family had 3 of them. All were spacious and comfortable. My parents were ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Great B&B, friendly staff and owners, was well looked after and very central.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is an excellent B&B and actually felt more like a boutique hotel. We were welcomed by the owner Thierry, who was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgable. We felt really looked after. The hotel has so much character but with a modern edge which we really enjoyed. The breakfast was excellent and despite being on one table with all the guests (I am not so chatty in the mornings!) we still very much enjoyed our experience. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms spotlessly clean and well looked after. It is in a perfect location close to the central square and only 15-20 minutes walk from the station. Genrally the street is quiet. We had alovely weekend and Thierry and Bernard arranged bikes for us and we cycled off to Holland for the day.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.8 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
10.3 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
2.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StJacobs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StJacobs B&B

Address: Oude Zak 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $117 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — StJacobs B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your StJacobs B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing