We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Diligence

Diligence
Ranked #118 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Diligence is an authentic and cozy restaurant in Bruges, located in the heart of the city center, only 200 meters from the Burg and Market square. Restaurant Diligence represents an honest French-Belgian bistro cuisine. We use quality local products that we turn in tasteful and traditional meals. Except for Wednesday our kitchen is open every day from noon until 2pm for lunch and from 6pm till midnight for diner. So even after the movies or theater, you can visit us for a nice steak or a delicious Flemish stew.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were staying at the Caselbergh hotel, just opposite the restaurant and I was keen to see if the food is as good as reviews suggest. We arrived without a reservation but were warmly welcomed and given a nice table at a window. Our starters, smoked salmon and garlic prawns were tasty (prawns were slightly over) and we followed with lasagne and sole fillets. The sole was beautifully cooked and I was glad that we had saved our appetite. With pre-dinner drinks and a carafe of house wine the bill was circa 85 Euros. Very reasonable for the quality of food and service provided.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frosticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    92
    33
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton-Latimer England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"First Class"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have known Patrick and Anita for some twenty five years now and they are the perfect hosts. The Diligence is first class wonderful food and lovely company provided by the hosts. Our last visit on the 22nd July 2012 was once again without fault our friends accompanying us could not stop commenting on the first class quality of our meals and dining experience. I have no particular favourite the whole menu is "Bang On" in my opinion and highly recommended. When you're in Brugge a visit is a must do on the itinery.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurtonSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Closed without notice!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really wanted to visit this highly reviewed restaurant during our trip to Bruges last week.
However, every time we went there, it was shut, despite it being during the working hours/days advertised on their website.
There was no voicemail message about this unexplained closure on the telephone, no notice on the restaurant door/windows and no announcement on the website.
Based on the reviews of people who managed to dine there, the food might be good, but I think such approach to customer service is unacceptable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were walking by and stopped in because the menu of the day looked good. It was excellent! When I asked if they had child-portions, they recommended the chicken with apple compote. My daughter loved it! Our other children were older and ordered omlettes and steak and both cleaned their plates. Very friendly owners, my goat cheese salad was fantastic, I can't say enough about this restaurant. Everything you see in the positive reviews below are true!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had our first meal in Bruges here. Great atmosphere, locally owned and the food was delicious. No late lunches so get there early. So good we ate dinner there too. Try the Lasagna, you won't believe your taste buds! Fried Chicken is great too. Can't say enough about this place...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diligence also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing