We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”
Review of Herberg Vlissinghe

Herberg Vlissinghe
Ranked #31 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Café Vlissinghe, the oldest pub Bruges. Already since 1515, Café Vlissinghe is hiding in the beautiful Saint-Anne quarter. The unique atmosphere and the friendly ambience make Vlissinghe a favorite meeting place for Brugeans and for tourists from around the world. Come enjoy and immerse yourself in the rich history of this special place.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very atmospheric old premises serving superb beer an very atmospheric old property very good if limited menu although this didn't detract, an exciting discovery all by chance a secluded unexpected beer garden.:-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    212
    32
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best outdoor patio!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Rick Steves' recommended this hidden gem and I'm so happy that we found it! The outdoor patio area is amazing! It felt like we were sitting at a friends backyard. Great appetizers and beer. If you are looking for a low-key place to grab a few drinks away from the crowds add this to your list of things to do!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great pub”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

this place was recommended by Natalie at the Adornes Hotel--literally just around the corner down a narrow street. Easy to miss if you are not looking for it. Staff was very nice. It was a cool, rainy day so the outdoor courtyard was not an option. Good selection of local beers and staff is very helpful in choosing one for your tastes. I had a bowl of onion soup and it was some of the best I have ever had. It is close to the main square but far enough you don't get a lot of in and out traffic. Relaxing place to hang out and have a few.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flamingo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great beer in the oldest pub in Bruge”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Old world charm but great service and a big choice of beers. We only ate the salami and cheese plate as an accompaniment to beer but it hit the spot complimenting the rich and strong Belgian beers (apparently Belgians commercially brew 2500 different types of beer!)
We did come back twice and eat and drink the same things and each time the experience was relaxing and enjoyable. Sat outside in the sun in their enclosed courtyard, bliss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very pleased we made the short walk to this pub on a Sunday afternoon. There were a few people there but we easily found a seat. It has a huge outside area so bet it's a fab spot for beers in the sun too if the weather is OK.

Very interesting pub with a great variety of beers and the staff were very helpful with their suggestions. We had a light lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. Spending a couple of hours here was one of the highlights of our short time in Brugges.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonMike1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herberg Vlissinghe also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Herberg Vlissinghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing