We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way pub with good beer and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Herberg Vlissinghe

Herberg Vlissinghe
Ranked #35 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Café Vlissinghe, the oldest pub Bruges. Already since 1515, Café Vlissinghe is hiding in the beautiful Saint-Anne quarter. The unique atmosphere and the friendly ambience make Vlissinghe a favorite meeting place for Brugeans and for tourists from around the world. Come enjoy and immerse yourself in the rich history of this special place.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Out of the way pub with good beer and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This isn't the easiest place to find. We had been here a few years ago but still had to think carefully about which small road to go down. You go into somewhere where time seemed to have stopped. We spent most of the time sitting outside in the garden. So near to the centre of the town, but so very peaceful.

The food was very good and the beer list, although not extensive, has real gems. Try the Leffe 9 and then finish with a Karmeliet Tripel.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    209
    31
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oldest pub in Bruges, full of charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had a meal here on a Friday night, it is the oldest pub in Bruges and is full of charm and character. There are lenty of Belgian beers to choose from and the menu was simple but nice. We chose some appetisers to start with; cheese - baby onions and mustard, olives - black and green and some bread to. For our mains we had the Tiger shrimp salad and the tomato, mozzarella, basil and balsamic salad, both of which were lovely. Well worth a visit whether you just want a drink or a meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old world charm with excellent beers and good homecooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Recommended in Rick Steve's guide, adn by Rik at Hotel Adornes, we were delighted with our evening here. Limited choice of home cooked food, all looking/tasting delicious, combined with well-kept beers made it a memorable evening. A relaxed atmosphere with locals and tourists mixed made it a great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonkersCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Found it by chance.. and went again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Something different - old panelled room, long tables, amazing pot-bellied stove. If you want a snack somewhere with atmosphere this is the place. It was bitterly cold there last week so finding a place for a bowl of hearty soup [courgette] and then hot apple cake + i.cream with a bill of €15 for the two of us was amazing. We had paid more for very indifferent food for one. So good we returned on final day for another brimming bowl of [carrot] soup and pancakes for afters + coffee, €20 for the 2 of us. Must be equally nice in summer as it has a large garden too.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Herberg Vlissinghe is worth a stop for a drink...or two...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

The oldest cafe in Bruges, it seems. It was small and poky in a cool way, and had a lively atmosphere. The few different beers we tried were all excellent, and though we didn’t eat there many people around us did and the food look hearty, and they seemed to be enjoying it.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herberg Vlissinghe also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Herberg Vlissinghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing