We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food out of the tourist traps”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Isola Bella

Isola Bella
Ranked #299 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $14 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food out of the tourist traps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a small, family-run restaurant outside the tourist area of Brugge and really well worth the visit. It doesn't take much extra effort to get here, and it's a quiet, pleasant neighborhood. The restaurant itself if small, comfortable and clearly local - we were the only tourists we saw among the eight (or so) tables. The food was terrific and our server (the wife of the chef) was charming and very willing to visit with us and tell us the story of how they started the restaurant. This is definitely worth a visit, especially if you want to spend a few hours outside the touristy center and see a bit of day-to-day Bruges.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 929MarkH929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sijsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beste italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The sevice is very nice Lady of the house is serving, the food is fabulous ,great pastas good pizas, and the sugestions are changing ofthen ( weekly) Fish pastas are great, also the osso bucco is delicious.
Nice and cosy little restaurant in St-Kruis (Bruges)

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty food in cosy family friendly setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and I visited one very cold evening and were glad of the warm welcome and lovely cooking aromas. We all enjoyed our pizza and service was efficient and friendly. They don't take credit cards but there is a cashpoint across the road.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wendypenrose2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza, lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

-You can watch the chef make your pizza
- Pizza's are amazing
- Service is very welcoming and friendly
- Prices are more than okay
- Nice, typical italian, interior

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank k0nijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizzas!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Came here with my hubby after reading the other reviews on trip advisor. It was about a 15 min walk from our hotel in the centre of Bruges.
The waitress who is also the owner was absolutely lovely. She was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
We ordered 2 pizzas which her husband freshly made in front of us. They were DELICIOUS!!! We had 4 beers between us and shared a lovely chocolate pudding and the bill was around 40 euros which was extremely good value.
We had a lovely evening and enjoyed chatting with the owners, a lovely couple.
This place is well worth visiting despite the fact it is a little off the beaten track. Will definitely visit again. Thankyou for a lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vix5871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Bella also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing