We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class beautiful Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huis 't Schaep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huis 't Schaep
Ranked #4 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class beautiful Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We chose this guesthouse for our 20th wedding anniversary trip and it could not have been more perfect. The building and the suite (Coucke suite) were stunning and provided a very romantic setting. John was so welcoming and friendly. We are vegetarian and he served us with the most delicious home cooked breakfast as well as recommending and booking lovely places for us to eat. He is very knowledgeable about the history of the building and it was very interesting to find out about the place we were staying in. The original stained glass windows are beautiful and there was a stunning one in our bathroom casting jewels of light all over the room. Everywhere was clean and gleaming and there is clearly a lot of pride taken in this. The suite was full of character with beautiful pieces of furniture and fully equipped with everything you could need. Tea and coffee making facilities were available. All in all it was a lovely treat to stay here and perfect for our special occasion. Many thanks to John. We loved Bruges too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
504
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay in the Coucke Suite, and highly recommend this beautiful guest house. The room itself was very large, and the bed comfortable. The bathroom is very modern, clean and bright, and the beautiful stained glass window next to the tub is so unique! The house is immaculately clean, tastefully furnished, and has warm and welcoming touches throughout. Excellent location - within walking distance to all of the places in Brugge you'd want to see. Affordable parking is two blocks away, as you won't need your car in Brugge, so plan on bringing your walking shoes and parking your car during your stay. Breakfast was delicious, and the service and recommendations by John were excellent. We could have used one more night in Brugge, there is SO much to see, and it is truly a breathtakingly beautiful, and historical city. Staying in such a lovely place really was really the highlight of this trip. We intend to return and thank you to John and Rob for a most memorable stay in your beautiful property!

Room Tip: The Coucke Suite was very large and bright. The room was quiet, and was on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfcitydaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights whilst in Bruges. John was very welcoming and helpful. He made our stay pleasant and we felt very looked after. In fact me and my husband only eat halal meat and John had especially ordered this for us in advance so we could have sausages at breakfast. This was a very nice touch. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. Having stayed at many 5 star resorts and hotels i was a little skeptical about staying at the guesthouse. However it surpassed my expectations completely, The cleanliness of this guesthouse is exceptional. I struggled to find a single smudge of dirt in our bedroom or bathroom.
I would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend for anyone planning a trip to bruges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naayyaa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This guesthouse has it all. It is centrally located, yet in a quiet area; it is a delightful period property renovated to the highest standard; and the service and welcome is second to none.

We stayed for one night and were given a 5 star welcome by John. He was helpful, polite and knowledgable. We were given help with where to go, what to see and where to eat. All delivered with charm and enthusiasm.

The room was wonderful. It was large (enormous), quiet and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was really very good indeed. We were treated to home made pancakes, fresh coffee, eggs and bacon and more! Again the attention to detail and quality are second to none. Last time we stayed at the number one hotel in Bruges - this was better.

Well done to John and Rob, it is clear they put quality and service at the top of their priorities.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetandjohn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights on our first visit to Brugge. John and Rob are exceptional hosts, nothing is too much trouble. John marked on our map all the interesting little places to explore that we would have missed otherwise. He recommended some fabulous bars and restaurants, which were way better than the tourist traps in the main squares. The yummy breakfast prepared by Rob was different each day, with plenty of options. John organized bikes for us for to ride out to Damme and back via the windmills, and through the town. Our room had amazing architectural features that were hundreds of years old, but featured all the mod conveniences and an especially comfortable bed. This is such a unique home with amazing features and antique furniture, and so much attention to detail. We would love to come back - loved the B&B, loved Brugge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything about this guest house was perfect. The location: close to the cathedral and all other attractions yet on a quiet street which was silent at night. The elegance and comfort of the Grade I listed building with beautiful and original furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts, recommending restaurants, visits and even accomodation for our onward trip to Gent. The delicious breakfast which was included in the price but was very complete including fresh fruit, juices, breads & croissants, yoghurt and eggs with bacon or salmon. The honesty bar with its pleasant terrace and exceptionally low prices. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairey973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Small, boutique period home with 4 rooms for rent. Excellent decor, friendly service. The hosts were organised, helpful and multilingual. The place is adorned with fresco's and scattered with (faux) antiques. It's pretty central and particularly close to the shopping strip. The can make bikes available to hire should you wish -- I'd recommend these as biking around Brugge is exceedly easy (nothing like Amsterdam).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BQW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis 't Schaep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis 't Schaep

Property: Huis 't Schaep
Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis 't Schaep 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huis 't Schaep is a small luxury Private Guesthouse - a combination of a small boutique hotel and the personal touch of a Guesthouse.We are located in one 16th century and one 17th century building, which were joined together around 1850 in neogothical style. You will find us in the historic city centre of Bruges, very close to the cathedral and with all the major tourist attractions, shops andrestaurants on our doorstep. Bruges' big city parking, Parking 't Zand, is a two minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huis 't Schaep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis `t Schaep Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing