We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for the discerning visitor”
Review of Huis 't Schaep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huis 't Schaep
Ranked #5 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This guesthouse has it all. It is centrally located, yet in a quiet area; it is a delightful period property renovated to the highest standard; and the service and welcome is second to none.

We stayed for one night and were given a 5 star welcome by John. He was helpful, polite and knowledgable. We were given help with where to go, what to see and where to eat. All delivered with charm and enthusiasm.

The room was wonderful. It was large (enormous), quiet and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was really very good indeed. We were treated to home made pancakes, fresh coffee, eggs and bacon and more! Again the attention to detail and quality are second to none. Last time we stayed at the number one hotel in Bruges - this was better.

Well done to John and Rob, it is clear they put quality and service at the top of their priorities.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetandjohn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Huis 't Schaep
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 604 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights on our first visit to Brugge. John and Rob are exceptional hosts, nothing is too much trouble. John marked on our map all the interesting little places to explore that we would have missed otherwise. He recommended some fabulous bars and restaurants, which were way better than the tourist traps in the main squares. The yummy breakfast prepared by Rob was different each day, with plenty of options. John organized bikes for us for to ride out to Damme and back via the windmills, and through the town. Our room had amazing architectural features that were hundreds of years old, but featured all the mod conveniences and an especially comfortable bed. This is such a unique home with amazing features and antique furniture, and so much attention to detail. We would love to come back - loved the B&B, loved Brugge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything about this guest house was perfect. The location: close to the cathedral and all other attractions yet on a quiet street which was silent at night. The elegance and comfort of the Grade I listed building with beautiful and original furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts, recommending restaurants, visits and even accomodation for our onward trip to Gent. The delicious breakfast which was included in the price but was very complete including fresh fruit, juices, breads & croissants, yoghurt and eggs with bacon or salmon. The honesty bar with its pleasant terrace and exceptionally low prices. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairey973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Small, boutique period home with 4 rooms for rent. Excellent decor, friendly service. The hosts were organised, helpful and multilingual. The place is adorned with fresco's and scattered with (faux) antiques. It's pretty central and particularly close to the shopping strip. The can make bikes available to hire should you wish -- I'd recommend these as biking around Brugge is exceedly easy (nothing like Amsterdam).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BQW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this charming period property that is situated 5 mins walk from the Cathedral and the 'Memlings' in the St. Jan Hospital.
We stayed in the Coucke Suite that is situated on the top floor, up some steep narrow stairs so you need to be fit and able to climb stairs to stay in this and the Ruben Suite. The room was spacious as was the shower. Bed was comfortable and clean. Kettle, water and tea/coffee facilities in the room. Courtesy bar, one floor down, and terrace. Breakfasts were wonderful and sustaining.
I would recommend this B&B to my friends and would stay again if i am in Bruges.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very friendly, small and exquisite B&B in a quiet street near central Bruges.
Huge rooms - like sleeping in a vast and elegant drawing room, deep baths, gorgeous pre-Raphaelite décor and delicious breakfasts.
Owner John was charming and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, bike rentals, and cycling excursions.
The only (minor) drawback was that the highly comfortable 'double' beds were in fact two single mattresses, which means you risk slipping into the gap between the two.
But in general I cannot recommend this too highly. A jewel of a spot.

Room Tip: Rubens at the back is huge, quiet and comfy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wow, what a gem. We stayed at the Huis 't Schaep for two nights staying in the Rubens Suite. it was our 25th anniversary and we could not of asked for anything more amazing, luxurious and special. The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They gave us a very warm welcome into their house which they have restored beautifully.Breakfast was served in an exquisite dining room with a lovely choice of food. The hosts were on hand for anything we needed, suggesting places to see in Bruges, and offering to book restaurants for evening meals. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about Bruges, and the history of the Sheep house. Everywhere was immaculately clean. Also an honesty bar was available where you were able to enjoy your drink on the terrace. We will definitely be returning to this great guesthouse next time we visit beautiful Bruges and passing the word round for others to stay at Huis 't Schaep. if you want a special room and to be made to feel like a king and queen the Reubens Suite is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#4 of 231 in Bruges
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis 't Schaep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis 't Schaep

Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $163 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis 't Schaep 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huis 't Schaep is a small luxury Private Guesthouse - a combination of a small boutique hotel and the personal touch of a Guesthouse.We are located in one 16th century and one 17th century building, which were joined together around 1850 in neogothical style. You will find us in the historic city centre of Bruges, very close to the cathedral and with all the major tourist attractions, shops andrestaurants on our doorstep. Bruges' big city parking, Parking 't Zand, is a two minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Huis 't Schaep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis `t Schaep Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing