We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Real Flemish food, large plates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vlaamsche Pot

De Vlaamsche Pot
Ranked #118 of 695 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Flemish food, large plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you want to eat real Flemish food, you should definitely visit De Vlaamsche Pot! Try the waterzooi (Fish Stew) or the rabbit stew. The plates are really big, we were two persons, but we could not finish the meals. The atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funky_buffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    346
    124
    100
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Portions are huge - you may want to skip the starter! Tip of the hat to Rick Steeves for recommending "The Flemish Pot" in his latest Bruges travel book. We loved the quaint, cozy, atmosphere. Leisurely is a key word - enjoy yourself, take it all in, wait for the "french fry fairy" to reappear again and again. Off the beaten path and just lovely. Hope to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonibmeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
300 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to enjoy a true Belgium style meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a really quaint and nice place. Had dinner here a few years ago and was glad I stumbled upon it again. The steak I had was a bit tough so get the filet instead of the Black and Blue( just that the cut is not a tenderloin). The service was good and the folks friendly. Of course you get french fries( or Belgium fries). Will keep coming back here like the feel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chucksierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Cozy, away from the crowd, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Down an alley, off a shopping street, sits this beautiful restaurant where we had a leisurely, authentic Flemish price fixed lunch. The other diners were all locals. One of us had the North Sea Fish Stew and the other the Sauteed Beef. Both were done to perfection. The service was definitely slower than your usual tourist place, but the surroundings were so pleasant and the food so good, we didn't mind missing some of the other destinations. Well worth the price of about $100 for 3 courses for 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2bears93442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stuffy and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This felt like a restaurant trying to seem authentic and rustic to tourists. Surrounded by English, Russian and Spanish, I realized that no local would ever be caught dead here.

Two fixed menu options, both for 32 euros, which by default do not include any vegetarian dishes. The 'a la carte menu' is limited, with no explanations of the dishes. Only familiar big-name, big-batch beers on the menu and just 5 or 6 of them. In a country famous for its endless variety of beer, this seemed like a travesty. They didn't offer a single beer from the one brewery still brewing in Brugge proper.

The tomato soup was scalding hot on arrival and was very salty. The beef stew, which is the reason the place was recommended to me, was surprisingly sweet. This, I gather, is one way to prepare it, but it was otherwise not very flavorful. The dessert was nice, but nothing special. This kind of food is uncomplicated and does not require expensive ingredients so it needs to be tastier to cost as much as it did.

The good: Quiet enough to talk without having to raise your voice (maybe noisier on a weekend night). Generous portions. I couldn't finish any of the courses. For this, I've given it "average" instead of "poor", but I wouldn't actually go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank liagushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vlaamsche Pot also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Vlaamsche Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing