We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great Tour of The Flanders Battlefields

I highly recommend Quasimodo Tours. Lucas, our Guide was so good and kept us interested and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Rickyboy1952
A moving and memorable experience in Belgium

Now that we have returned home from our travels, we’d like to take the opportunity to say thank you... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
marilynw603
via mobile
Read all 1,532 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bruges
from $14.68
More Info
from $21.34
More Info
from $52.79
More Info
from $7.86
More Info
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,532 results
Traveler rating
1,469
57
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,469
57
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flanders fields last post ceremony world war battlefield tour private museum hooge crater museum open sandwich excellent tour ypres salient polygon wood his knowledge the menin gate ceremony picked up from our hotel tyne cot great uncle battle sites german cemetery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,532 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Our tour was thorough and comprehensive and an excellent value.

Our guide and driver, Philippe, was incredibly knowledgeable, experienced and reliable. He took great care to address the interests and needs of all on the tour. He answered all of our questions, greatly enhanced our knowledge of the Ypres Salient and even made suggestions for resources for those interested in additional information.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Philippe is an excellent tour guide and I can not recommend him enough. Everyone who visits Bruges should do this tour.
We were picked up at 9 and dropped back around 6 . The day could not have been shorter as we would have missed interesting sights . I came away a lot more informed about World War 1
Philippe is passionate about his work and it shows in this tour

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank karenkaveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Spent a Sunday in May on the organised tour of Flanders stopping at all the key sites, and a few less well known.

Philippe both drove and narrated the journey throughout.

Having a good mix of nationalities onboard (from England, Ireland, Australia, USA, Canada and New Zealand) Philippe made sure we all saw what we wanted, and pointed out all that would interest us.

Philippe made sure he understood where we came from (and in our case where an ancestor is thought to have fallen) to make sure we fulfilled our aspirations to see visit it.

His knowledge of the area is comprehensive (having grown up near Ypres), which only helped the understanding, appreciation and details surrounding the WW1 campaign in the area.

Starting at 9am, we had a full itinerary (including a light lunch) and opted to stay on to see the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate, returning by 9pm.

Taxis back to Bruges were arranged, and Philippe came back to make sure we were all safely on our way.

I would highly recommend booking a tour to see the sights, as the explanation and detail about what you are looking at, why and the background to its significance cannot really be experienced without extensive research beforehand.

All in all, with 29 years experience giving guided tours, this really shows in the organisation, planning and overall experience.

I booked via GetYourGuide website, but emailed Sharon (his wife) to arrange pickup, etc. beforehand.

Nothing is too much trouble, and made for a painless, thoroughly enjoyable and extremely informative tour.

Overall, superb experience with absolutely no complaints, and very reasonable prices.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank IGask6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

We were picked up by taxi from our hotel then transferred to the spacious mini bus driven by our very informative guide Philippe . As we drove towards the Ypres Salient Philippe started to explain how WW1 began , and set the context for the battles that were fought in Flanders Fields. Throughout the day we made lots of stops at battle fields, memorials and a museum ( for our lunch stop) , all with excellent commentary enhanced by maps and photographs.
We opted to stay in Ypres for the Last Post Ceremony, and were then smoothly transferred back to Bruges by taxi. Those who did not stay had the chance to visit the Menin Gate and have a walk around Ypres as part of the tour.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank sydneygirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

I just spent the day with tour guide Phillipe and 20 others on an English speaking tour of the WWI sights in and around Ypres. It was an outstanding day of learning about WWI and the role of Belgium in the Great War. Phillipe was a fount of information. And while the day was emotionally difficult when one considers what human beings are capable of, it is one not to miss.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank pams832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews