We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, informative tour with a personal touch.”
Review of Quasimodo Tours

Quasimodo Tours
Ranked #1 of 46 Tours in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Flanders Fields Battlefield Tour which we run since 25 yrs.(Tour 1). To the battlefields, sites and monuments of the First World War. Operating since 1990, Quasimodo takes you on a personal and relaxing minibus trip to Passchenendaele, Hill 60, various cemeteries, trenches and bunkers, the Menin Gate, different monuments (Anzac, Canadian), in brief all highlights. You can also add the Last Post Ceremony to the tour after which you are brought back to your hotel in Bruges. Best of Belgium Tour or Triple Treat (Tour 2). Discover the Belgian Delights. A laidback meander through the beautiful countryside around Bruges featuring historical Damme, Castles of Tillegem and Loppem, monastery Ter Doest, interwoven with Chocolate, a Belgian Waffle, finishing with a triple Beer tasting.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, informative tour with a personal touch.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a fascinating time on this tour, though philippe our guide exhausted us with his knowledge.

Me and my wife were in the area for my birthday and she saw these tours just two days before we were due to go. I had a vague memory of being told aout my great-grandfather's grave and thanks to the commonwealth war graves commission website was able to track it down quickly.

I emailed Phillipe with a request to visit the grave just the day before we went to Bruges and he was very helpful and encouraging. We learned more about this important time than either of us had in school, or our own lifetimes.

Hearing about both the micro and macro scale details is so fascinating, the incredible scale and the personal suffering were indelibly brought to life. Gaining an understanding of the Belgian perspective, both at the time of the great war and since, was particularly enlightening.

The tour showed Phillipe's years of experience as a guide. It was very well constructed and thought out and the landscape and geography of the area was brought to life as much as possible.

I was also personally very happy with how our visit to my great-grandfather's grave was handled, and I would encourage anyone with ancestors who fought in the great war to take the opportunity to visit if they are anywhere near the area.

Quasimodo tours was the perfect guide.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chesneywold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,190
    51
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a superb day”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

what a wonderful trip. the guide, Phillippe, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. it was so nice to have such a personnal tour with only the seven of us.the amount of stops at various locations. whether it be a farmers shed showing us what they have to deal with everytime they plough, to the more emotional cemetries and sombre trenches. the day flew by as we were all so interested.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Must Do tour”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Three of us went on this tour in early November , we had seen the trip advisor postings and were also seperately recommeded , we were not disappointed . Phillipe our guide picked us up at our Hotel in Oostkamp at 8.45 and due to traffic we were not back until 7 p.m having been treated to a dozen stops and a wealth of information of the WW1 Flanders battles, a museum,and a complete sympathetic understanding of this terrible phase of european history and all it involved in Flanders and the Ypres salient. If you have any slight desire for this history take the trip, you will not be dissapointed

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best day of a week of wonderful days in Brugges!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Around September 2009 I took this tour with Sharon as our guide. I can't say enough good things about the tour. She understood, and explained, the details, the scope and the emotions of the history. She felt the horrors of Flanders Fields deeply enough that she could share them. I suspect she can't give that tour too many times in a row - it must take a toll.

The tour was well organized, we were picked up on time, dropped off on time, and the tour ran very smoothly. The pacing of the tour was excellent, the weight of the history weighed upon us.

This is at once a sobering and uplifting tour. If you doubt that greater people than we fought to preserve our freedom, you will change your opinions on Flanders Fields. If you don't understand the phrase "the horrors of war", you will come a few large steps closer to understanding it.

If you read these notes, thank you Sharon!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When in Brugge, be sure to take Quasimodo's tour of Flanders Fields”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Many tours offer "live commentary" that is informative. But when led by a knowledgeable guide--who not only has grown up in the area, but has studied World War I and devoted much of his life to educating others--the tour is quickly elevated from merely "informative" to memorable, thought-provoking, and enriching. Though Philippe has been providing this tour for many years, he seemed as engaged and eager to share his experiences and knowledge as I would have imagined him when he was just starting out.

For an excellent synopsis of the day, please see Kerrinhp's review (on the TA site). While everything about the tour was indeed well planned and executed, I offer these suggestions for Quasimodo's consideration: provide participants with a printed, detailed schedule of places to be visited (indicating those with restrooms), as well as (smaller) copies to take away of the large maps and photos that were passed around at various times during the tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ek_ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quasimodo Tours also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Quasimodo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing