We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food, and extremely friendly”

Sivalai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice food, and extremely friendly”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I took my wife and family here for dinner on my wifes birthday in january, following the great reviews on here. Im not sure i would say this is the best Thai food i have ever eaten, but it is good. The owner is a really nice guy who looked after us really well, he even sold me a bottle of thai whiskey, which is very hard to find. We had a great evening, with good food and very attentive service. I wold highly recommend it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    41
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Thai food as good as any we have had”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

A little away from the main squares but this is not a bad thing. Easy to find close to the Ibis and Novotel hotels which are on the same street.
Initial impressions are excellent with a warm and welcoming greeting from the owner who acts as front of house. Decor is exceptional and authentic. The general facilities are superb as more importantly is the food which is cooked by the owners wife.
The menu is wide ranging and the food obviously freshly cooked
Wine choice was very good and overall we found the prices acceptable, especially in light of other experience in Bruges.
CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT TOO HIGHLY. WORTH GOING TO BRUGES JUST TO VISIT IT.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steedmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This Thai restaurant is superb. The food is delicious, the restaurant is very clean and the owner is extremely friendly. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agnesswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Thai food outside Bangkok”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Visited this Thai restaurant in bruges and had the best Thai meal since I left Thailand 8 years ago. The owner's wife is the cook and the whole family are delightful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gracepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Go Here! This was a great surprise for me. Spending a couple of days in Brugge, I was quite tired of the same or very similar menu at every restaurant.I decided to walk away from the touristy square and stumbled across this place. First off, the decor and ambiance ....beautiful. Real Thai furnishings, beautiful stonework,fresh flowers, subdued but adequately lit, and Thai music playing. I was met with a wonderful smile and seated quickly.
I have been to many Thai places so I knew what I wanted. First the Thai Springrolls . The presentation was gorgeous and the taste outsatnding. the perfect amount of crunchy and spice.
Next, the Thom Yum Goong Soup....Amazing also! by this time I was well impressed.
next the Peak Kai Yad Sai stuffed chicken wings. PERFECT!!!
And finally the Pad Thai noodles... Excellent!
WELL DONE!!!! If you get a chance.....GO HERE!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gurnlites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sivalai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Sivalai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing