We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sobering day trip”

Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours
Ranked #8 of 45 Tours in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day trips from Bruges to the first world war battlefields.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sobering day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

As it was the beginning of the season, I managed to get on a full day tour at 2 days notice. As the trip only takes 8 people in a minibus it would probably be better to book ahead in busier times. I was first pick up at 8.30 a.m. and after picking up the other people we set off for
the front line around Ypres( Ieper in Flemish). On the way Nathan gave us a background to the beginning of the Great War,very informative and passionate.
Our first stop was the Langermark German military cemetery and we continued with visits to the 'Brooding Soldier' memorial to Canadian troops,Tyne Cot cemetery, the Passendale 1917 memorial museum,the In Flanders Fields Museum in Ypres, The Menin Gate, Hill 60,and a visit to the Messines ridge near to the French border.
Both the museums are extensive and interactive. The Passendale museum has recreated wooden dugouts inside and a trench system outside. You do have to move through the museums quite quickly to see everything in the time allowed but its worth it.
A lunch of cheese or cooked meats with salad and a beer in Ypres was included and all during the various drives Nathan gave a running commentary of the various phases of the war.
I was dropped of back in Bruges at around 5.30. So a full day of seeing and learning. It costs
70 euros but everyone on the 'bus' seemed to agree that it was well worth it .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetunney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    55
    8
    2
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Nathan was prompt with his communication with us, and we were lucky to be able to go on his bus at such short notice. Pick up and drop off on time, and a walking history book took us to both common and off the beaten track sites involved in ww1. The timing at each site was spot on, enough to really immerse yourself in the day. A true bargain with a lunch, and museum entry included.

You couldn't do what we did in one day without a small group tour bus (max 8 people). Great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Essential trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Nathan was our tour guide for the day. He has such a passion for the subject, well history in general to be honest, but there were no facts or figures he didn't know about, every crater, every battle, every date indeed every detail was known to him. His enthusiasm was infectious.

We were picked up on time, treated to a narration of the background to ww1 en route, visits to lots of relevant sites, museums, cemeteries and even relevant roadside views of where the battles happened to put the whole picture into perspective.

What we hadn't realised was what an impact there still is; each week live ammunition is being found in the fields and collected by the army for safe disposal!

Lunch which was included was good, and because the tour is just a small group of 8 plus Nathan it was very sociable too.

Great value for money and extremely interesting and informative

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky-Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nathan provides an excellent tour. It was a very sobering day, reminds you of the sacrifices so many made for us today.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham england
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr Knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Went on the tour with Nathan and what a great day it was ! He is absolutely full of information on the cemeteries , battlefields, museums, dates, times etc. He is like a historian. On the day we were picked up and returned to our hotel, had a great lunch, visited museums, cemeteries and memorials as well as other sites off the beaten track. Can't recommend this trip enough. Amazing day

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scallywag-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing