We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer Selection & Food.”

Bierbrasserie Cambrinus
Ranked #51 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baltimore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection & Food.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went here with some friends for a nice meal in Bruges. Felt like we were in an old pub which was nice. The place was humming with activity and felt cool to be a part of. Some beers were a bit pricey and they don't really tell you much about what's on draft and whats in a bottle but the waitress did explain most things for us.

I ordered the chef's meal which included a few courses. They were great minus the dessert which was a very poor creme brulee. The beers and the flemish/belgian food are the star here.

Would recommend to a friend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,808
    1,462
    325
    124
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything they served was absolutely great”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stumbled across this place and were lucky enough to get a table without a reservation but it was a very busy lunchtime.

Every single dish we tasted or saw was great and all the different guests of various nationalities seemed to really enjoy their food. Service was a bit slow at times, but friendly and given quality of food you are happy to wait. Great beers (400 types!).

I had the mussels and frites one of the more expensive options but a massive serving of mussels which were fresh and delicious and some of the best fries I have tasted.

Strongly recommend. Reasonably priced for quality of what we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve79df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If it's Bruges, it must be beer x's 400”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wow, liked this place so much we visited twice during our 4 night Bruges adventure. Beer menu has everything a Belgium beer lover could ask for. With the barmaids help I found a beer I liked and I usually don't like beer. The beerlover amongst us found the Hoy Grail and enjoyed the Westvletern12 as well as a few other choice brews.
We ate dinner once and returned another day for drinks at the bar. Both times our service was good. The menu was a refreshing change from the standard Bruges offerings. Salads are large enough for a meal with fresh and interesting ingredients.
We had fun at the bar and one of the female bartenders shared with us that she rather liked Bud light and kept some on hand at home. Oh noooo!
Ask them for directions to their beer store down the street. There you too can find the Holy Grail and 399 others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willtravl4wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best in Brugge!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The best in Brugge!

When you visit the beautiful city of Brugge, make sure to include Cambrinus in
your "must eat" list. We came upon Cambrinus by chance (a couple of blocks from the Market Square) while looking for a place to have lunch, read the menu and decided to give it a try. After waiting for about 20 minutes – reservation is strongly recommended - we were able to have lunch. It was so great, that we had to go back next day for dinner! I am not a fan of tomato soup, but here I found the best tomato cream soup! Actually, I had two! They have best french fries, gegrilde gambas… everything we had was delicious. And for deserts, please try the Dame blanche duo V chocolade . . . This IS chocolate! And if you want variety of bears, look no further! Prices are reasonable, service is great and it is always crowded - this is why you need to make reservations especially for dinner.
This is the best in Brugge indeed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Good Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great for traditional Flemish food (my rabbit in beer was great) but also does other food and caters for most tastes. However, it is the 400 types of Belgian beer that gives this place a well deserved reputation, and this includes the renowned Westvleteren should you be happy to pay £8 for a beer. Just around the corner from the Market square it is easy to find and close to most of the places that will have given you a thirst in the first place. Always very busy (not the place for a romantic meal) the service was quick and friendly without seeming to rush you. Unfortunately, they did forget to swap garlic potatoes for fries as my wife is not a big garlic fan; however, I am so she got my potato croquettes and I got her potatoes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierbrasserie Cambrinus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bierbrasserie Cambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing