We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we rode into town we found this place and what a night!”

Bierbrasserie Cambrinus
Ranked #54 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cheshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“When we rode into town we found this place and what a night!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ten of us were on a cycling holiday to Belgium. We had spent an hour in the Cambrinus on the first night and enjoyed the atmosphere. It was meant as a recce for the second night when we were due to have a meal and try some of the beers which was sold there. On arrival on the second night we were sat at a table and shortly afterwards 20+ Swedish `musicians' carrying their instruments arrived and sat next to us. That was the start of a tremendous night of singing, music and laughter. Not to mention great food, wonderful beer, tremendous service and a certain amount of understanding and contribution by everyone else in the place. It reminded me of a recent trip to Munich and its beer kellers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,823
    1,485
    328
    125
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Food Experience not to forget the Singing !”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visited together with a bunch of fellow cyclists travelling as 'Blazing Saddles' within Belgium, France and the Netherlands having run across this place by chance. The menu looked interesting and kindly priced from the outside and on entry that feeling was enhanced to a further high level. This feeling went to stratospheric levels when we realised that this place had 400 different beers. The staff were very welcoming and the ambience great and then the fun really started when a group of 22 Swedish Doctors disguised as a brass band arrived from their afternoon brewery trip! By this time we were already into tasting several of the house beers and already comparing notes on our excellent meals - Flemish Beef being my favourite - the Doctors then picked up their instruments and started playing - how could we resist and we followed each of their tunes with a rendition of our own and collectively we sang/played the night away much to the tolerance of the bar staff and enjoyment of the other customers. I cant guarantee you will run into this band when you visit but even without them, a visit here is well worth the effort so eat drink and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing, too much like a production line”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

On passing by on our first evening we were impressed by the lively pub atmosphere and tried for a table, and were happy to make a booking for the following night. Next night at 7 pm in a packed house, we were given a table for two at the back of the restaurant, elbow to elbow with other diners on either side.

The service was frantic, with the waiter departing the table as we were still placing our order, and the food arrive almost instantly indicating that it was probably already in waiting.

However, the tomato soup was delicious, the onion soup average, the meat in the stew was dry and the sauce a little too heavy even for this meal, and the fish rolls somewhat bland. Overall, the food was disappointing, and clearly our table was needed for a later booking - as was the table of the couple next to us when we arrived, who were being hustled out at 7 pm.

While 400+ beers sounds impressive, given that we only manage a couple or so, it's really not a choice factor. A table at the front, or dining at the bar would be best, as long as your expectations of the food are not too high. It does have atmosphere, though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank B-AnneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
892 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Good Beer, Good Food”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I made a stop in based on reviews. It is very crowded here even on the shoulder seasons and I can't imagine in the high season. If possible make reservations and if no possible I would go early and get you rname on the list.

The pub/eatery atmosphere is cozy. The bar has a slow rotation since people come to try differing beer and eat at the same time. Most of the dinner menu has some kind of beer addition into the recipe. If there is a way to put beer into the item then it will be in there. I had a pork belly that was tender and tasty. Crisp on the ends with a sweet sauce that ended in sweet and bitter. Very good. The salad was a large portion for one and had a variety of veges not just salad. After seeing the desserts I had to make room for the apple tart. I think the tart could have been cooked a bit more. I like the sugar to be browned on the top.

The selection of beers is wide and varried. Make sure you have an idea of what kind of beers you like or you will end up staring at the menu for hours. There are samply tastes that can help you guide yourself.

Don't expect a lot of expert help from the staff. Although they are here for you they have many tables per server. I think there should be more staffing. A seat at the bar can be a good alternative since your server, the bartender never leaves your sight.


The atmosphere was very good. Sitting at the bar I met several people from all over the world. Some of the tables are big enough (beer hall style) to be shared and can make for good new company. There are more private two person tables available too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It can be noisy”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is an atmospheric bier brasserie with a selection of over 200 bottled beers. We first visited it around mid day on a monday. We enjoyed a plate of assorted meats and cheeses with our beers. It came without bread - that was an extra and no cutlery - toothpicks were provided to pick the pieces off the wooden platter!. However we enjoyed selecting from the wide range of beers and its relaxed atmosphere so we booked a table for that evening. What a contrast, it was packed and very noisy bordering on being oppressive; at times we could hardly hear each other talking. It took a hour and a half for our two courses to arrive and to our chagrin we saw other customers who had come in after us having three courses and leaving while we still waited. The food, when it arrived was a good example of Belgian pub cooking with an extra twist.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonFoxtrotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierbrasserie Cambrinus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bierbrasserie Cambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing