We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, busy bar with good food but very slow service!”

Bierbrasserie Cambrinus
Ranked #53 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ingram, Texas
Level Contributor
303 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice, busy bar with good food but very slow service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We didn't realize that you had to make a reservation to have dinner at a beer hall, but we should have. As we were about to order and eat at the bar, a couple that we met invited us to join them at their table for dinner. The food was Belgian and very good, but the service was unbelievably slow. This was on a Tuesday night!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,778
    1,448
    324
    124
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brantome, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miserable Staff and mediocre pub grub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We made a reservation for here and when we arrived it took time to find someone to get us to our table. We ordered 3 beers from a very unfriendly waitress. When she brought them one beer (La Corne) was not served in the proper glass (I always thought the pubs/restaurants in Bruges prided themselves in giving Belgian beer in the correct glass). We ordered a 3 course special and separate starters and mains for the other 2 people. The starters of cheese croquettes were greasy and tasted like they were cooked on old fat. I had Dover sole, this was soggy and greasy. The chicken casserole was almost inedible and the sweet for the 3 course special never appeared. I would call this pub grub at its worst and the service was awful, bored looking staff who plonked plates and glasses on the table like it was just too much trouble for them. We went here because of recommendations on TA, but all I can say is "Give it a miss"

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, il
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub with a huge beer list & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Big pub, busy and noisy. Fun atmosphere.

We came here for lunch...the food was tasty & prices were reasonable. Service is a little brisk but we're annoying tourists, so I get it.

We ended up back here for beers after dinner. The place was still hopping. We sampled from the giant beer list and really enjoyed ourselves!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Huge portions, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ate a late lunch here and could barely eat our dinner 4 hours later! The 4 starters sharing plate would have been more than enough, the pâté was delicious! But the omelette, mussels and half chicken that came after were equally as good. Had the taster set of Delerium beers as well, very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

As stated by others - the mussels are great. But make sure you book ahead. Service however is awful. At dinner time all they want is to get you in and out so that they can get others in. Very rushed, and snarly if you try to stall over drinks, even for a few minutes. We dropped in for a drink about 4pm on another day, and were completely ignored - there were lots of staff, but they were more interested in clearing tables than waiting on us. After 10 minutes of waiting, we walked out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyTBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierbrasserie Cambrinus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bierbrasserie Cambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing