We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frites museum”
Review of Friet Museum

Friet Museum
Ranked #42 of 153 things to do in Bruges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Belgium is famous for its frites—and the Friet Museum gives visitors a chance to sample fried potatoes and various complementary sauces, as well as typical Belgian dishes such as meat balls and beef stew. Digest a bit of learning and history along with your food at this educational spot, housed in a building that dates back to the 14th century.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Frites museum”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A whole museum devoted to fries - kids would like this and the entrance fee includes a discount on buying some fries at the end

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    259
    242
    118
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
656 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“More information than I expected”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I did not expect there to be much information in this museum so was pleasantly surprised to find out how much was in it. There is quite a bit of history about potatoes and then how fries and chips came about. After touring the museum you have the opportunity to buy some friets.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friet lover”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great museum, fun and very informative. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. This museum is close to the Markt as well as many other attractions. The frites at the end of the visit was really great, paired with an equally great Brugse Zot beer. The perfect way to end of my day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca_vh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Flemish as Frites!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a fun place to visit if you've got a spare hour & have already worked your way through the beer and chocolate options. The museum is surprisingly informative: it has a photo display of famous chip shops - including John Lennon's local chippy in Liverpool.

... & of course, you get the chance to sample some (properly cooked) frites at the very end. Though I do think the museum misses a trick here.... it has plenty of space to run a decent eaterie (perhaps with moules??), but instead plumps for a fast-food caff environment. Shame about that.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good way to pass an hour”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I had read reviews on here and they put me off but we bought a city card and found ourselves walking past so went it. It isn't the greatest museum in the world I get that but it was quite interesting, something different and a bit of fun. We learnt a few things and quite enjoyed it. We didn't eat any frites as we had just eaten.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SAT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friet Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Friet Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing