We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #9 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great meal great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Only decided to go here from a change to the traditional Bruges restaurants we have done all holiday. So glad we did! Great service and a very relaxed environment. The food was incredible and very authentic Greek recipes and flavours.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickie400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,532
    371
    87
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Swordfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We dined at the olive tree on a cold rainy night in downtown bruge. I had the swordfish which was amazing. My wife had prawns which she stated where good. Cold beer. Complimentary Greek dessert. Will return with friends

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jharve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little bit of Greece in Bruge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and myself ate here on my Birthday, the owner was very hospitable and sat us by the radiator so I would not be cold. There is an extensive menu and lots of the ingredients are sourced in Greece, even the wine which was lovely. We opted for the mixed dips which was a lovely selection of Greek dips, olives, pitta breads and salad, main course of king prawns and feta in a tomato sauce and swordfish - both were fantastic, we were also given a complimentary desert which was a lovely Greek cake made by the owners mother. This is a family affair and well worth a visit, our feast cost 86 euros including a bottle of wine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Southcrest09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had no reservation so went inside to ask whether a table was available. We were told a table would be free in 15 minutes, and to wait outside - there was limited room inside. It was January so waiting outside was a cold experience, but we did it. After 20 minutes, we were still outside, and after 35 minutes, it was clear that the table we'd been told would become free wasn't going to materialise. We checked again inside and were told there was no tables available. What a waste of out time..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolboySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on trip advisor, and after much debating about wether we should hunt out a traditional Flemish restaurant or wether it was ok to eat Greek food in Belgium...we reached a compromise. Eat dinner here..go somewhere else afterwards for traditional waffles (my bfs favourite)
Well...the restaurant is decorated lovely and the staff are really nice. I had moussaka and my bf had lamb chops, it came with rice potatoes, salad and bread. It was really tasty, in fact the best moussaka I have ever had. We declined desert (as we had our traditional waffle plan) however the waiter gave us a complimentary piece of cake each, it was gorgeous, my bf loved it. I found it all quite funny coz now he was too full for waffles!
The Olive Tree is a lovely restaurant and worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Foxherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing