We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Belgian cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Den Huzaar

Bistro Den Huzaar
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Bistro Den Huzaar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Belgian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

One of the best restaurant in Brugge, 1 minute walking from the Market square. There are several dishes from Belgian cousine that are simply delicious...whatever you choose it will be a good choice!!!!!!!
It' always fully booked, so the only chance to get a table is by booking it in advance. Remember not to be late, because the kitchen close at 8.30 max 9 p.m.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonovTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    255
    54
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Booking is a must..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel, but we found it by accident on our first full day and booked for that evening. I am so glad we did, as they must have turned 50 people away that night who hadn't booked. This is a traditional Bistro, which is family run - it would appear that the Chef is the owner and the Maitre d' is his wife. The food was quite simply spectacular, and whilst everybody has their favourite things to eat, you could do worse (and possibly no better) than to order the house speciality...a pork stew, so tender it is hard to believe it to be pork, cooked in a pot with beer and cherries and baked with a pastry collar. This is served at your table with a fresh pea puree, frankly; to die for. Enjoy this with a marvellously rich carafe of the house wine and leave very happy. I'm not big on pudding, but the special coffee with a small selection of their Top 5 desserts on the side really rather altered my view...divine, indulgent and delicious. The staff are attentive and charming, and the environment is traditional and rather opulent which just adds to a gorgeous atmosphere in which to dine. There is no rush from the staff, and the room was clearly full of locals who knew all about the wonders within - which is always a sign of a great restaurant!! Even the little dog, very quietly eating from a silver bowl at a corner table with his owners seemed beyond impressed. You just must book and don't leave it to chance to walk in and find a table. The Bistro is just off of the main square, quietly tucked away in one of less busy streets. A really lovely way to spend a Saturday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJB_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little gem in the centre of Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited Bruges in September and found this restaurant by accident. It looked busy so we thought it would be OK. Wrong - it wasn't OK - it was great, a real gem in the centre of Bruges. The food is lovely and I am pleased I got as far as desert, well worth saving a little space for. The meal with wine was not expensive, certainly not by Bruges standards, the staff are lovely and the atmosphere also adds to the esperience. If you wan't a nice meal in the centre of Bruges, look no further.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

we were fortunate to get a table in this lovely restaurant so booking is a must, we checked it out previously on trip advisor - so glad we did as lived up to every review....the food was traditional, fresh and plentiful and even though the restaurant was fully booked they certainly didnt rush us at all........you must visit it...you will miss out if you dont!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of my favorite meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We felt lucky to get into the restaurant as they were full up our first night. It was so well worth it! We did the three-course menu and both of us loved our dishes. I chose things that were almost too rich (or I didn't go hungry enough!), but they were so, so good. The terrine starter was so decadent. The fish was perfect and I actually couldn't finish the chocolate mousse but wish I could have! My husband had a lovely shrimp starter, pork cheek stew (which I ALMOST had order envy over), and creme brulee. He loved his also--especially the generous portions. The service was very good also, and the atmosphere was charming. A definite must while you are in Brugge! Make sure to stop in to get a reservation, or else you might be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Den Huzaar also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro Den Huzaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing