We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to try something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad

Ryad
Ranked #537 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $23 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Time to try something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We usually stick to Belgian Fare when in Brugge but decided to try this Moroccan Restaurant for a change. The menu is rather limited but who needs a choice of 48 main courses? The food is all organic, as are the beers on offer, and very tasty.
Service was a little laid back but we were in no hurry, excellent choice of background music (Anouar Brahem) and the decor was most definitely not typical Belgian.
Just opposite Cambrinus off the NE corner of Grote Markt

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    59
    19
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous decor, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Eat here on our last night in Bruge. It was a fantastic meal, expertly cooked, local vegetables and good wine.
The service was slower than mainstream restaurants but the food was worth the wait
I recommend it for a relaxing easy enjoyable eating experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Read the reviews and enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Ryad - we got there late and thought we would go straight for the main. If we'd read other reviews in more detail we'd have realised that the starters provide a useful filler whilst the mains are prepared so jumping straight to main didn't save any time. The gap gave us time to enjoy a glass of wine and absorbe the very relaxed atmosphere.

The menu is pretty limited (2-3 types of tagine, couscous or salad) but the food was really good - hearty and fresh, simple but full of flavour. The owner was really friendly if a little eccentric; we had a great time and really enjoyed the food. Like the other places we found it Bruges, it was great for vegetarian and meat-eater alike. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lostnomaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Reading the reviews we knew what to expect so we didn't mind the long wait. It really is a full evening out - but the food is so good it's worth waiting for. Everything is freshly cooked to order and is really delicious. The restaurant itself is very nice with some lovely photos on the wall and the owner/ waiter friendly and helpful. As others have mentioned it really isn't fast food,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kutani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Found this amazing place by accident whilst looking for somewhere to eat. My friend and I had a lovely meal the owner serviced us he was great seemed to be in touch with all the tables and food just seemed to appear drinks arrived with ease. Very relaxed and enjoyable evening, great art work on the walls very moving. Would visit again you can't hurry good food so if you are looking for quick food this is not the place !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patches17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryad also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Ryad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing