We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of De Pepermolen

De Pepermolen
Ranked #37 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We opted for the 3 course set menu. We had an extra pre menu starter brought on the house which was a lovely little glass of pumpkin soup. Nice and warming on a cold winters night. The food was beautifully presented, generous portions and the flavours were excellent. The venison was cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend but you need to book in advance. Very romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    111
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“De Pepermolen just keeps getting better”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the De Pepermolen and I can honestly say we have never been disappointed by the quality of the food. It is not necessarily cheap but it is worth it. We ate from the A La carte menu as the 33 euro menu was not entirely to our liking. For three courses with wine it came to 135 euros but it was worth every cent. Dinny and Christophe have created a restaurant to be proud and they have achieved this by not having to resort to getting as many people through the door as they can. As a result the restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and is one where you will never leave feeling that you have been rushed through the courses just so the table can be reset for the next sitting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMarlinstravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herault, France
Level Contributor
313 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A Great Night”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Located slightly out of the busy tourist centre of Bruges De Peppermolen is an excellent find.

We booked our table for three in the afternoon a few days before. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly and show to our seats.

Whilst the menu contained excellent suggestions I did find it a little restrictive in choice. I opted for the menu at 33 euros rather than à la carte. The menu clearly stated all of your party had to order from here to benefit. This wasn't a problem for us, but I suspect it may be for slightly larger parties.

Our evening began with a rather tasty pumpkin soup before the starters were served. The foie d'oie was without doubt the very best I have ever tasted on the continent. It was beautifully presented and the play of tastes simply inspired. Initially I thought the portion a little small but soon discovered this not to be the case. Main course was the pheasant, again beautifully presented, though a little too much sauce for myself. I didn't manage to finish this course and unfortunately for the first time ever in a restaurant I did not order a a dessert, opting for a de-caffeinated coffee instead. Our wine was an excellent St Emillion Peymouton Grand Cru which was an inspired choice.

We had a lovely evening here, the restaurant was close to our apartment but not isolated, a canal was steps away, the restaurant was fully booked but not overcrowded. We'd somehow booked an experience which represented Bruges perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mootman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were referred to this sparkling little restaurant by a nearby shopkeeper. Clearly, it is frequented by locals which we consider a positive sign. We had the tiger prawns from the lunch menu and were more than pleased by the beautifully presented and deliciously balanced fare. There was plenty of space between the tables to carry on a conversation. A winner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meal for two”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The wife and I had a lovely evening here, we booked whilst passing lunchtime as just up the road from our Hotel. A lovely small restaurant that is not trying as many do to pack in as many as possible, giving us the space to dine and talk and be heard comfortably. Service was attentive and the food gorgeous, I had a lovely Turbot with spinach risotto. They also have an excellent wine list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Pepermolen also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Pepermolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing