We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist food at a high price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mozarthuys

Mozarthuys
Ranked #572 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tourist food at a high price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was hoping to get a good carbonnade in Belgium, so I tried here. The beef was tough, and the sauce was weak and unflavorful. instead of a long cooking in dark beer, I think they used cornstarch and gravy flavoring around the beef. My companion's goat cheese salad was drowned in mayonnaise. Service was ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    178
    137
    120
    222
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“overpriced, rude and bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Tourists flock to this restaurant and they make the most of it by charging exorbitant prices for their bad food. The staff are rude and unhelpful.. they sat me with my back to a wood burning fire that roasted me throughout the meal and were very uninterested in doing anything about it. My advice - avoid!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“crap but so many tourists come they couldnt care less”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

sunny courtyard
food inedible
service crap
but they have hundred of hungry tourists so milk it
I wish I could force the owner to eat his own food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good if u just ask Starters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in this place before reading Tripadvisor and I was shocked!
There was 1 guy to serve everybody and it was full... So after waiting for 5 minutes I said "Please sir?" and he answered me "Wait, I know what I am doing ok? Relax!" .... Well I was going out of the restaurant but my wife asked me to give them another chance so we stayed..
Asked for a white wine (glass of chardonnay, not so good) and my wife a Leffe beer (she loved it) and just 2 Starters instead of a main course... Croquette with Shrimp was good, tasty but a little too oil and ham and melon was also good although the melon wasnt so fresh.
All in all it was a good restaurant but I would NOT recommend or come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuiMilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced and hit and miss food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited this restaurant twice - bad mistake, but only because it was serving around 5pm. First night had Flemish beef stew which was ok, and half roast chicken - which was dry and had a strange curry taste to it. Second night fish dish was nice but served with flavoured rice off a supermarket shelf which didn't go at all with the fish and was quite disgusting. Stew second night was not good either and the child's meal had the most revolting sausages we've ever seen and our son only ate a bit out of pure hunger. Terribly expensive - and yes this is in a tourist area, but far better restaurants around. Avoid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozarthuys also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Mozarthuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing