We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst restaurant in Europe” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carillon

Carillon
Reserve with
Carillon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #608 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $10 - $49
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in Europe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have eaten in restaurants in France Germany,holland and Spain and this place was the worst ever. The service was very poor, the young waiter unfriendly and rude and when a fellow diner complained her knife was dirty he wiped it on his apron and gave it back to her!!!!!!!
My wife ordered a salade nicoise which turned out to be half a tin of tuna and some very sorry looking lettuce, I ordered wild boar fillet which came with a desert bowl of burnt veg and nasty potato croquettes the whole thing must have been under a heat lamp for ages as a think skin had formed on the sauce.
Avoid this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    61
    44
    78
    226
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went in to this restaurant to avoid the main square and the rain/wind. Wish we had done more research as when we left felt we had wasted Eur125.00 on bad food and service. Set menu at Eur19.00 arrived with luke warm bland soup and was followed by a chopped chicken dish which resembled a cheap sandwich filling. Dessert was not offered and after 30 mins we had to reminder a waiter that it was included in the set menu. Please do not waste your money eating here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I wish I had read the other reviews...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I wish we had read all the negative reviews before we went or we wouldn't have made the mistake of going here. The service was terrible - the waiter was disinterested and rude, and totally ignored us for the first ten minutes. The review mentioning the snatching of menus certainly rang a bell. The food was terrible and overpriced.
We were directed past a table which had already been laid to one which had not been cleaned after the last diners (we were particularly intrigued by a piece of salad debris, which the waiter later dealt with in his own fashion, by placing our carafe of wine over it – job done). He came over to our table and used our candle to light the candle for another table without a word said. We were quite surprised by this lack of manners and even more so when he did it a second time.
Two of us ordered the salad with cheese croquettes at €14 – this was basically a rectangular Findus pancake (no home cooking here) with a stale, onion-heavy salad. Even more disappointingly the lads got a side dish of exactly the same salad and a bowl of fries (which were out of a freezer pack) with no explanation as to what went with what.
The musicians seem to be a hazard of this place, as mentioned in previous reviews. They turned up to harass the diners while we were there, and partook of a glass of beer with the waiter/manager! All in all, the thick end of €100 down the tube, but a meal we WILL remember...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stroppy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“don't go there...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Dirty place, unfriendly staff, bad food.
Really a place to avoid.
We went there with Groupon. Even then, it was overpriced for what we got.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincentvdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
1 review
“Nice restaurant with a lot of choise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice service and all came on time , we had scampi's in garlicsauce and the Tournedos provence style . medium rare and nice and juicy. the little prawns were deliciouse .
The restaurant was pretty full and we managed to get a nice table and had a joyfull time here , Bruges is a very nice city and the romantic evenings were there.
next time were in Bruges we will table here again.
Thank u , Redginald , Claudine

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redginald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carillon also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Carillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing