We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Tom's Diner

Tom's Diner
Ranked #33 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We paid Tom's Diner a visit, as it was recommended to us by our B&B (Huis Koning) and it was worth the trip. We had the carpaccio, the mille feuille, duck and red mullet. The service was excellent and the food was delicious too. I would recommend a trip here, it is in a quieter part of the city away from the tourist traps around the Markt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueyedpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    179
    31
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Last review stated the food was as good as London Michelin starred restaurants. We should of course have treated that with caution, but nevertheless, that and the generally positive reviews couldn't help but heighten expectations.

The first thing to note is that there's a very limited choice. Although it does of course limit custom - some people don't like meat, or red meat, or are pescetarian for example, it isn't necessarily a bad thing if you do half a dozen things really well.

So it was that three of us chose the meat loaf and one the pasta, but without ham or mozarella. That nonetheless arrived with ham and mozarella and apologies for the oversight when this was pointed out. It was replaced very quickly with an assurance it was a freshly prepared portion. Except of course it was far too soon to be freshly prepared, particularly as the pasta (penne) was very soft for English, let alone Italian tastes. There was also still some of that mozarella still in there and the tomato sauce was very sweet and also rather watery. That may be OK for local taste - I don't know. I do know that most of the portion served tonight still remained on the plate when it was cleared.

As for the meatloaf and mashed potato - it was OK, but honestly nothing to write home about - I've certainly had much better hamburger.

In spite of the expressed dissatisfaction with the pasta, we were charged full price for the meals (although free coffees were offered).

Really just crushingly disappointing. Not discourteous, not dirty, nor I edible (in the main), but mediocre on the whole and unacceptable in the particular.

Hard to recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Xhris2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food comparable to London Michelin Starred restaurants”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wonderfully cosy but modern interior with a fantastic atmosphere.

Great menu, authentic and with modern twists, clearly all well sources and expertly prepared food.

Fantastic and friendly staff, only too happy to help and inform.

Off the beaten track and away from the tourist traps nearer the main square, well worth the 5 minute stroll north from the square, over the canals. You also get a lot more 'bang for your buck'.

All in all a 5* experience, and I do not give a restaurant 5* very often. The meatloaf dish surprised me beyond belief with the wonderful tang of rhubarb and the 'marshmallow' desert was stunning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DP7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived late at the restaurant, not having booked. All around was quiet and deserted but on opening the door a sea of faces greeted us! This was obviously the place to be! The Manager just about managed to squeeze us in, for which we were very grateful. We were given a seat at the bar which was fine as we had a super view of the kitchen. Seeing how much care and attention went into the meals by the two young chefs was a revelation. The levels of cooperation and organisation between the kitchen and the serving staff was worth the price of the meal on its own! Having said that the meal itself was truly excellent. Top tip is go for the Belgian Meatloaf speciality but all the food appeared beautifully cooked and presented. A great dining experience. Thanks to all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Formbyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Nj
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food in an off-the-beaten-track location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and had a good experience. Food was very good -- fresh, prepared with care. Nice atmosphere inside the restaurant; felt like a place that residents go. In a residential area away from the touristy parts of Bruges but easy to find and no more than a 10 minute walk from the central square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Diner also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tom's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing