We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and romantic”
Review of Tom's Diner

Tom's Diner
Ranked #33 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to Tom's Diner based on trip advisor reviews and loved it! We walked in on a Friday night and were lucky to get a seat at the bar where we could also eat. We had delicious cocktails, starters and mains and got to watch the chefs make them. The staff were really helpful and talked us over the cocktail menu and about Bruges. We were served really quickly and had a really great time. The atmosphere was really lovely and made for a very romantic first night in Bruges.

I'd recommend the steak which my boyfriend had, it was cooked perfectly and so delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenLovesBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    179
    31
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual but busy, rustic yet upscale”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I would strongly suggest that you make reservations as Tom's Diner is clearly a popular place and, even in the middle of the week, the place was packed. Our waiter was extremely busy but we never had to wait overly long for service. You know you have a good waiter when he seeks eye contact with his customer (me) across a crowded room and then delivers a 2nd glass of wine based upon my gesture. My wife had the vegetarian option and I had Tom's special pasta dish. Both were generous portions and quite delicious. I enjoyed the casual atmosphere of Tom's and, despite how busy the place was, it was still quiet enough that my wife and I could carry a conversation without raising our voices. A good music selection, engaging if you wanted it to be but not so loud as to dominate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate here with our two year old in tow after a long day of walking around in the heat. It's a little bit off the beaten path but worth the walk. The food was pretty good, we had the quesadilla and the scampi. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked ahead but it wasn't very busy on the Thursday night that we were there so we probably could have gotten away without booking. It's a bit pricy for the amount of food that you get but we weren't starving by any means when we left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiandCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hidden away from the main tourist restaurants around the main square in West Gistelhof (5/6 mins walk) is Tom's Diner. Here you will find Bruggian's enjoying a lovely meal in a restaurant which serves local specialities, a small but varied selection (I highly recommend Tom's Pasta and their homemade Meatloaf) The staff are young and efficient (if I remember correctly a brother/sister team running it) You may need to book which you can do on-line or by phone. I've eaten there on many occasions and never been disappointed!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzimaloozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, friendly restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly staff. Food was very good. You need to book this restaurant as it gets full very quickly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Diner also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tom's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing