We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in Bruges”
Review of B&B Bariseele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&B Bariseele
Ranked #15 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B in Bruges”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had the first floor room which was a great size (main room with bed, dining area, sofa and a separate kitchen area). Spotlessly clean good value for money compared to what some of the hotels were charging.

Very warm welcome (and a cup of tea!) by Benny who was full of handy tips and hints of where to go and what to do.

Breakfast was great - during the weekends, it is served in Benny's living room... good spread of meats, spreads, cheeses etc and Benny is on hand to offer suggestions on what to do! During the week, Benny leaves a breakfast tray outside of the room - again, great choice of things to keep you going until lunch!

The B & B is located in a residential area but only a short walk to the city centre.

Most definitely would stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Bruges.

Well done Benny!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
255
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden of England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place rightly deserves it 100% positive rating - as we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

The main points are:

Very large rooms - we had the 1st floor room, which had a big bed, dining table area & a sofa and still plenty of room to walk around.

Breakfast is brought and left outside your room during the week (Mon - Fri), so you can eat it when you want on your own table - just without having to prepare it or do the washing up!
You have a kettle in your room so you just add the hot water - and thats all there is to it. You get different items each day including a chocolate figure some days :-)
At weekends you have breakfast downstairs in the owners dining room.

The cost is very reasonable for the quality - we paid around 90 euros a night for 3 nights in December

The area is very quiet so no noise at night, but is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre. So if you want to be right in the action dont stay here - but when you can have this haven of quiet so near, I know what I would rather.

Parking is available in a off street garage which is a real plus. The garage isnt massive though - I drive an estate car and this literally only just fitted, so if you can bring a smaller car then do so.

Lots of good advice and maps are available from Benny and also in the room.

Everything is just as you would want, we had a great time when we were there.

If you go at Christmas though, please consider these 2 things:

1) Visit the Ice Sculpture show (if poss during the week) as it is truly amazing - very cold inside but the things they have built are stunning

2) Dont expect too much from the Christmas Markets - these are not a patch on the german ones. The shops in Bruges are excellent and I would stick to these to find better items.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had two rooms which were really clean and great value for money when I compare them to what some of the hotels wanted to charge.
We arrived on Sunday and were warmly met by Benny who had even taken the trouble to email me to warn me of which route to take because of road works in Bruges.
He told us everything where to go and eat etc and with regard to the food he was spot on.
The B & B is in a residential street just a short 10 minute walk to the city centre but it is a nice walk by the canals.
The beds were really comfortable and all four of us had a great night sleep. We had breakfast brought to our room which was just a lovely way to start our day.
We used the garage for off street parking and Benny also let us use it after we had checked out.
It was nice to see that a man had such pride over his B & B and we will definitely return .

Room Tip: Rooms 2 or 3 were both really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in a 3-room boutique B&B that sits right next to a beautiful church in a serene neighbourhood. In the mornings we would have breakfast served in our room by the lovely hosts, who even went out their way to prepare gluten-free meals for me. The spreads are phenomenal - Orange, raspberry, creamy butter, and my favourite - Speculoos (gingerbread cookie spread).

Benny, who started the B&B for more than 7 years now, is an extremely friendly host that wouldn't hesitate to share with you more about his love of white tea, and discuss travel adventures over a hearty breakfast. We had a most wonderful time, and we would definitely want to revisit Benny at Bariseele again if the opportunity arises. :)

Bruges is breathtaking by day, and magical at night, with its cobbled alleys and amazing architecture. Sans the buses and the cars, you would think you have travelled back in time, to an ancient fairytale land. We would definitely recommend Bruges as a destination for everyone who is travelling in the Benelux region (or visiting Belgium for the matter!), and Bariseele as the choice accommodation for the stay in this beautiful place.

Eugene & Christine (Visited end October 2013)

Room Tip: Book early! There's only 3 rooms available in this amazing place. Also, it would help if you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meiju85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Endorse all the positive comments made elsewhere. From the moment of our arrival to our departure, we were made to feel very welcome by the owner, Benny, who clearly takes a lot of justifiable pride in his B&B and his city.
The location is perfect, with a 10 minute walk along the canals to the centre of the city and the recommendations we took up for bars and restaurants were spot on. If you have a vehicle, we'd recommend taking up the parking option as parking in the area is otherwise heavily controlled with liots of threatening tow-away signs!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Part_timer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My daughter and I spent four nights at Bariseele during our visit to Brugge in July. We both really enjoyed our stay! As others have noted, Benny is extremely friendly and helpful, and attentive without overdoing it. He made it clear that he was available to us anytime we needed him.

We had the ground-floor suite, which was spacious, well cared for, and extremely clean. The queen-sized bed was clean and comfortable, and the bedding was similar to what we have at home. The area in which Bariseele is located is quite quiet, so being on the ground floor was not a problem in terms of noise or privacy. The church in the middle of the square has a bell which notes the time, which I loved. (The bell is silent after about 10 p.m.) We stopped in there one day and found a small, simple, but elegant R.C. church.

Our fridge was stocked with a variety of beers and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. Benny relies on the "honor" system, asking that you leave payment on top of the fridge. The prices of the drinks and snacks were very reasonable, which was a nice change from most places that offer this service!

The location of the B&B was great. It's a three-minute walk to the bus stop (handy when arriving and departing), and it's just a 10-minute walk to the center of Brugge.

We both can think of nothing that we would consider a negative related to our stay at Bariseele. If we ever return to Brugge, we will definitely book into Bariseele again. Thank you, Benny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is hard to think of anything fresh to say about the Bariseele! Everything was absolutely spot - on with the accommodation but what really made the experience special was the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner - Benny. This is a guy who is rightly very proud of his achievements, who could not do enough to help. His knowledge of this part of the world is immense and he gave us too many useful tips to list here! By the time we left Benny felt more like a good friend than a hotel owner. A really briliiant holiday and one we hope to repeat next year. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formbyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 231 in Bruges
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 231 in Bruges
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canal Deluxe B&B
Canal Deluxe B&B
#7 of 231 in Bruges
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Bariseele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Bariseele

Property: B&B Bariseele
Address: Collaert Mansionstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B Bariseele 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are looking forward to welcome you in our spacious rooms with family ambience and the amenities of a comfortable and luxury B&B with care for the environment. All suites have a private bathroom and the possibility for breakfast in the room and with free Wi-Fi coverage in the whole building. For your convenience, private parking is available and the cozy hotel salon is open to enjoy a Bruges beer. Located in the medieval heart of Brugge in this very quiet quarter next to the 14th Century St.-Gillis Church, off the main canal and only a few minutes walking distance from the Grand-Place. Where a personal welcome makes the difference. Private Parking and bicycles available. Local restaurants and pubs in our neighbourhood Free Breakfast every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your B&B Bariseele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing