We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly B & B”
Review of B&B Bariseele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&B Bariseele
Ranked #14 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great friendly B & B”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had two rooms which were really clean and great value for money when I compare them to what some of the hotels wanted to charge.
We arrived on Sunday and were warmly met by Benny who had even taken the trouble to email me to warn me of which route to take because of road works in Bruges.
He told us everything where to go and eat etc and with regard to the food he was spot on.
The B & B is in a residential street just a short 10 minute walk to the city centre but it is a nice walk by the canals.
The beds were really comfortable and all four of us had a great night sleep. We had breakfast brought to our room which was just a lovely way to start our day.
We used the garage for off street parking and Benny also let us use it after we had checked out.
It was nice to see that a man had such pride over his B & B and we will definitely return .

Room Tip: Rooms 2 or 3 were both really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
258
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in a 3-room boutique B&B that sits right next to a beautiful church in a serene neighbourhood. In the mornings we would have breakfast served in our room by the lovely hosts, who even went out their way to prepare gluten-free meals for me. The spreads are phenomenal - Orange, raspberry, creamy butter, and my favourite - Speculoos (gingerbread cookie spread).

Benny, who started the B&B for more than 7 years now, is an extremely friendly host that wouldn't hesitate to share with you more about his love of white tea, and discuss travel adventures over a hearty breakfast. We had a most wonderful time, and we would definitely want to revisit Benny at Bariseele again if the opportunity arises. :)

Bruges is breathtaking by day, and magical at night, with its cobbled alleys and amazing architecture. Sans the buses and the cars, you would think you have travelled back in time, to an ancient fairytale land. We would definitely recommend Bruges as a destination for everyone who is travelling in the Benelux region (or visiting Belgium for the matter!), and Bariseele as the choice accommodation for the stay in this beautiful place.

Eugene & Christine (Visited end October 2013)

Room Tip: Book early! There's only 3 rooms available in this amazing place. Also, it would help if you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meiju85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Endorse all the positive comments made elsewhere. From the moment of our arrival to our departure, we were made to feel very welcome by the owner, Benny, who clearly takes a lot of justifiable pride in his B&B and his city.
The location is perfect, with a 10 minute walk along the canals to the centre of the city and the recommendations we took up for bars and restaurants were spot on. If you have a vehicle, we'd recommend taking up the parking option as parking in the area is otherwise heavily controlled with liots of threatening tow-away signs!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Part_timer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My daughter and I spent four nights at Bariseele during our visit to Brugge in July. We both really enjoyed our stay! As others have noted, Benny is extremely friendly and helpful, and attentive without overdoing it. He made it clear that he was available to us anytime we needed him.

We had the ground-floor suite, which was spacious, well cared for, and extremely clean. The queen-sized bed was clean and comfortable, and the bedding was similar to what we have at home. The area in which Bariseele is located is quite quiet, so being on the ground floor was not a problem in terms of noise or privacy. The church in the middle of the square has a bell which notes the time, which I loved. (The bell is silent after about 10 p.m.) We stopped in there one day and found a small, simple, but elegant R.C. church.

Our fridge was stocked with a variety of beers and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. Benny relies on the "honor" system, asking that you leave payment on top of the fridge. The prices of the drinks and snacks were very reasonable, which was a nice change from most places that offer this service!

The location of the B&B was great. It's a three-minute walk to the bus stop (handy when arriving and departing), and it's just a 10-minute walk to the center of Brugge.

We both can think of nothing that we would consider a negative related to our stay at Bariseele. If we ever return to Brugge, we will definitely book into Bariseele again. Thank you, Benny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is hard to think of anything fresh to say about the Bariseele! Everything was absolutely spot - on with the accommodation but what really made the experience special was the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner - Benny. This is a guy who is rightly very proud of his achievements, who could not do enough to help. His knowledge of this part of the world is immense and he gave us too many useful tips to list here! By the time we left Benny felt more like a good friend than a hotel owner. A really briliiant holiday and one we hope to repeat next year. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formbyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the top floor with it's beautiful, tranquil view. The church bells serenaded us during the day. Benny was very helpful and our breakfasts for the three mornings were varied and delicious. The bedding and linens were the most luxurious we'd encountered in our last few weeks of travel. The bathroom was HUGE and immaculate with sleek plumbing.

I only have two slight negatives to point out -
1. If you want the top floor beware that there are many steep stairs.
2. The internet is free, but with a limited amount of megabytes. I had some issues since I was trying to upload pictures to my travel blog. Benny would reset for me, but I had go down those steep steps to ask him as we didn't have Belgium mobile phone.

Overall a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this B & B especially for those who want a moderate amount of self catering with your own microwave and small refrigerator, and a table to comfortably eat at.

Room Tip: As long as you're fit, the view from the top is tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklyFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

In our travels we treasure finding out of the hubub places that allow us to relax and decompress. Bariseele is now one of our favorites. It's far enough from the center of Brugge to be quite, but it's an easy stroll to all that Brugge has to offer. And the breakfasts are great. Thanks Benny. If you have issues with stairs, Let Benny know. Kim and I loved the room at the top - the views were great.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs has by far the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristtrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.8 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#4 of 231 in Bruges
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#5 of 231 in Bruges
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Bariseele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Bariseele

Property: B&B Bariseele
Address: Collaert Mansionstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B Bariseele 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are looking forward to welcome you in our spacious rooms with family ambience and the amenities of a comfortable and luxury B&B with care for the environment. All suites have a private bathroom and the possibility for breakfast in the room and with free Wi-Fi coverage in the whole building. For your convenience, private parking is available and the cozy hotel salon is open to enjoy a Bruges beer. Located in the medieval heart of Brugge in this very quiet quarter next to the 14th Century St.-Gillis Church, off the main canal and only a few minutes walking distance from the Grand-Place. Where a personal welcome makes the difference. Private Parking and bicycles available. Local restaurants and pubs in our neighbourhood Free Breakfast every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your B&B Bariseele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing