We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
Review of Pieter Pourbus

Pieter Pourbus
Ranked #26 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a very nice meal a Pieter Pourbus. It was on a Monday evening when many restaurants were closed or required reservations. We were seated immediately, the waiter was very attentive, the atmosphere was intimate, and the food was excellent. This restaurant is a few blocks off the main square and thus not full of tourists. We will go back next time we are in Bruges.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    178
    45
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at this restaurant on a Sunday night after recommendation from Our hotel. We were graciously welcomed without a reservation on what was obviously a very busy night. There were a few seasonal specials which had a quite Asian influence as well as more traditional Belgian dishes. I had some scallops from the specials which were plump and well prepared. Next I tried waterzooi ( after our lovely waiter explained what it was). This was also good. The bride had a chicken stir fry from the Asian selections which was served with steamed rice. She declared this good. Together with a half litre of house rose, this came to a reasonable €70ish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctoraitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A quaint and traditional restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner here on our first night in Bruges at the suggestion of our host at a nearby B&B. We wanted something traditional to the area. I enjoyed our surroundings and found them cozy and warm on a cool and rainy evening. Our waiter was not extremely friendly, but did speak English(and several other languages) which was helpful to us. We tried beers native to the area and our steaks were cooked just as ordered. These came, of course, with Belgian Fries. I felt the service was a little slower than usual for a restaurant in Europe, but the food was excellent. Pieter Pourbus is not a touristy restaurant and is not on a central street, but if you want a traditional restaurant with good food, you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocky2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The food was good, not great. Uninspired, mostly.
Service was excellent; staff very friendly.
Room nicely decorated and cozy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mejehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here on our first night, we came across the restaurant when wandering back to our hotel. Its probably a little walk from the square but worth it. The staff were all really friendly and it had a nice homely feel to it too. We all choose to have starters, and both couples had the steak to share. It was amazing, it came all beautifully prepared and it tasty amazing. It wasn't cheap but no worse then anywhere else we went. Service was very good, would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pieter Pourbus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Pieter Pourbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing