We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth looking for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malesherbes

Malesherbes
Ranked #114 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This restaurant is difficult to find as it is located in an alleyway off one of the side streets.Very few tables so need to make a reservation. It was the best retaurant we visited on our trip to Bruge.It was recommended by our host and she was kind enough to call for us.

The place is tiny, run by sisters and the food is awesome. One of the owners was our waiter who kindly brought us through the menu and then suggested the wine. It all went together very well...one had steak, the other duck.

We thought the price was fair value for the quality of the meal and the experience and would definitely return for another great evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    65
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth going”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a small restaurant off a tiny street - make that a passageway. The hostess was welcoming, the food outstanding and the price fair - this is not an inexpensive restaurant. The selections were very broad, more than I would have anticipated for a restaurant this size. Would I go back - you bet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small but mighty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This tiny little restaurant is located down an alley near the De Halve Maan brewery. It is best to get a reservation in advance, because there are only 5 or 6 tables in this small space. We split a starter of Red Fish on carrot mash with tapenade. It was amazing. For dinner we got coq au vin and the nightly special of cod with tomato coulis, mashed potatoes, serrano ham, and peas. Both were very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elbabe1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A French bistrot in Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great food and wine in a small and cosy restaurant. Typical French cuisine with a friendly "Belgian" service. The 2 Ann's are preparing you wonderful dishes with fresh ingredients. Always served with a smile! This restaurant is very popular with the local people from Bruges : a good sign!
Like we say : " een aanrader"! ("recommended")

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“French gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fabulous food and unusual setting, almost like being in a french kitchen. Staff very friendly, helpful and obviously proud of the food they prepare. Good mix of local people as well as tourists

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KenHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malesherbes also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Malesherbes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing