We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food - expensive by UK standards - not by Bruges”
Review of Indian Tandoori

Indian Tandoori
Ranked #522 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superb food - expensive by UK standards - not by Bruges”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Really pleased when I saw this restaurant was only a minutes walk from our hotel (L'Academie Hotel) I am addicted to good Indian food. We went there twice during our three night stay. The first visit we had tandoori chicken and Chicken Bhuna and pilau rice. The curry and in particular the pilau rice were very good. The tandoori chicken was simply outstanding - we agreed it was probably the best we had ever had. Meaty, tender and extremely moist with a fantastic spice and marinade combination. For both the curry and the tandoori we were asked for our preference with regard to chilli heat - we both asked for them to be hot. It is nice to be given the option - tandoori chicken is usually served as it comes but in this restaurant it was garnished with fresh chillies and came with a small bowl of hot (both with regard to temperature and chilli level) tandoori sauce which you could spoon on to the tandoori chicken if you wished. Good choice of wine as well.
Our second visit we shared a tandoori chicken and pilau rice. Rice was very good as before but the tandoori chicken wasn't quite as good as it was on our first visit. It was still very good but not quite as fantastic as on our first visit - they did set the bar very high though!!
I see some reviewers have commented a little negatively on the waiter. His name is Ram - spelling is undoubtedly wrong but that is how it is pronounced.
I have to say that whilst I understand he might appear to some as being somewhat curt, he does have a very dry sense of humour and I enjoyed some banter with him. This was aided by him bringing out a sizzling platter from the kitchen with chilli smoke billowing from it causing everyone (including him) to have a coughing fit!!
Would certainly return if in Bruges

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    6
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low key, tasty welcome hot meal”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food here as it was warm and satisfying on a snowy cold night. The waiter was a little surly but not rude or unfriendly as others make out - I think he just preferred the locals' company.The service was quite quick and the food was plentiful and hot. It wasn't the best Indian I've had, or the worst, but it hit the spot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AyePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I love the food, not so crazy about the service”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Food-wise, it is better than the other Indian restaurant in the centre of Bruges (Taj Mahal). The curries are excellent, even if my boyfriend found a hair in his.

It's a small restaurant, though, with the atmosphere of a curry house, not very intimate or romantic. The waiter, too, doesn't add much to the atmosphere, being rude and curt at best. As some other reviewer mentioned, he basically throws the plates and dishes on your table, and hardly ever smiles.

Nevertheless, a good place to eat if good food is what you are after and the atmosphere is of minor importance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Oaks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, this Restaurant served tasty Indian food with laid back service.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Off the beaten track, this Restaurant served tasty Indian food with laid back service. The other Indian Restaurant was close.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie7Oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
191 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Small but oh so delicious.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

In the city center of old historical Bruges, there is a small Indian restaurant. Only room for about 18 to 20 persons. Classical Indian style. The food is exquisit and is reasonable in price. The owner who also serves you is very friendly and willing. There is another Indian restaurant on the Simon Stevensplein, but the price is too expensive for the food. Last time we ate there, we were feeling a bit sick in our stomach.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Tandoori also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Indian Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing