We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back here”

Hotel-Restaurant Central / Sirene D'Or
Ranked #603 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bedfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back here”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We like many others wanted to sit in the main square and eat and we paid a premium for it. The beer was €6-8. Pizza wasn't the best and was €16. Spaghetti bolognaise was €15 and watery with no taste. Very poor food. When we asked for the bill it had item we didn't have. Try somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spur365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    76
    83
    78
    224
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Don't be picky about seating or you will feel the server's wrath!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Decided to pop here for lunch as we fancied pizza. We were aware that you pay a premium for the location, to sit at the market square and people watch. However, one of the servers started off with a horrible attitude when we asked if there was a non-smoking section. His response was to "go to another restaurant if we want non-smoking and that this was outdoors right on the plaza so what do we expect?" My husband told him that he understood this but there was no need for him to be rude about it. We should have left that that point, but our stomachs prevailed and we found a table. The attitude changed for the better after that and the 3 of us each ordered our own pizzas, which we fairly decent (but overpriced). I'm not sure why we weren't offered a table inside the restaurant as all the tables were set with cutlery etc and it was non-smoking, but I digress. I suppose it's an inconvenience to the servers for customers to sit inside? Or is this just for dinner? We'll never know because the servers can't be bothered to explain. I observed a French tourist asking a server for a table in the shade and he was given an icy response. It seems any request is too much trouble to answer in any helpful manner. Anyway, we didn't linger too much and promptly paid and even left an extra tip, which we were thanked for. However, there really is no need to ever come back to this type of place. With pizzas at almost 19 euros each, you are better off heading to Philipstockstraat only 2 minutes away where there are at least 2 Italian restaurants serving pizza at half the price. But if it's sitting on the square, people watching and smoking that you want (and don't care about service/price), then this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoy a coffee and brandy while the world goes by. Tip top location and Wednesday the square buzzes with the market and lots of people, local and tourist just enjoying a great atmosphere. Try the pasta with shrimp tails if you want something tasty. The staff are brash but short of being rude, I thought they were good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't Stop -Keep walking”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Waiter rude-it was like we were bothering them. Brought only the Italian Food menu although they have an extensive other menu. Saw staff 4 time and that took a lot of work. Place was not busy. Grilled chicken was tough. Although the view is great. Look at the view and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lickcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uninterested waiters.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Some items on menu very good, other items plain tasting. Restaurant 1/3 full, but waiters weren't interactive with the guests. They seemed indifferent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeRaVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel-Restaurant Central / Sirene D'Or also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Central / Sirene D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing