We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the Markt, not bad!”

Hotel-Restaurant Central / Sirene D'Or
Ranked #602 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Italian, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“For the Markt, not bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

For our first lunch in Bruges, I steered my wife and mother-in-law to De Goude Mermin on the north side of the Markt; however, that was packed with people, so being hungry and not wanting to wander further afield, we settled for sitting on the terrace of the Hotel Central's restaurant.

We ordered some basics - I went with Mussels and frites. They had a few nice beer offerings, so I got a nice Leffe Brun, in a big glass. The one false note was the mayonnaise, which came in a package (I believe it was from Heinz). Here I had been regaling the ladies with stories of the homemade mayo, and all we got was pre-packaged!

But not a bad lunch, all in all. And yes, I suppose the bill was a bit high... with all the nicer offerings not far from the center in Bruges, you could skip this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    68
    80
    76
    221
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Food, overpriced drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

As with any other restaurants around the square, this restaurant offers a set menu lunch. We had steak and frites (14 euros incl a selection of set starters and ice cream for desert), which was very good. But that was about all that was good. The service was poor and there are no drink prices on the menu. This is where the cheaper set menu prices become doubled once drinks are added. Always ask for the drink prices before ordering and also if you do not want a "large" drink which runs about 8 euro for a pint of beer to 6 euro for a coke, be sure to ask for small/petit -- as it seems they will bring you the most expensive drinks otherwise. The restaurant setting was fine, with a view of the square.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish I'd read the reviews before going in !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Just fancied a quick bite to eat. Had previously been warned about eating in the marktplatz but only wanted a sandwich . . . .

Cheese baguette. Consisted of 4 slices of rubbery cheese and a baguette, no butter, 9€ ! Salad 5€, fries 6€ ! Had the previously mentioned 'chicken pie' 16€ no pastry looked like vomit on a plate. Special local beer was nice but 10€.

Beware the add ons. They will try to push you to have salad, garlic bread, sauces etc. Overall came to 55€ for two very poor meals and drinks.

Paid up, no tip. Not best pleased but we had been warned. Hopefully readers will be too !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andywholovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK but very expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place - our experience of it was nothing like as bad as some of the other reviews though. The environment/decor etc was pleasant. Our waiter was friendly and good with the children and when I asked for a beer recommendation he was very helpful and we had a good chat about Belgian beers etc in general.

That said when we first walked in one of the other waiters was rather brusque and complained because we were not getting into the door quick enough and were letting the cold air in!

The food was OK/average; fairly plain but hearty. What stops it being anything better than average is the prices. I know Bruge is expensive - especially this part of town ... but two main courses for us parents, plus 3 x ham-cheese rolls for the kids, and a drink each came to €90.00. yeah you read it right. No starter, no desert, no coffee, and not even full meals for the kids came to €90.00 service not included (so about €100 if you tip the waiter)!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyd_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Needs some care and attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

To be fair it is new years eve and we haven't booked anywhere. Most places are full and we are lucky enough to be given a table upstairs. Downstairs is beautiful with a great atmosphere. Upstairs is dreary, poor lighting as half the bulbs have blown and depressing wallpaper and surroundings.
The start of the meal was disappointing, 5 tiny pieces of garlic bread €5. However the main and dessert was better. Pasta carbonara, pepperoni pizza, tiramisu and apple pie. With one beer €8 and a coke €6 the total bill was €66. Overpriced for what we had but we are opposite the Belfry.
Despite this the young man that was looking after the upstairs was friendly and attentative and we made sure he got a decent tip.
Would I go again? Probably but only if seated downstairs and would skip the garlic bread.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel-Restaurant Central / Sirene D'Or also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Central / Sirene D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing