We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surly waiter” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gruuthuse Hof

Gruuthuse Hof
Ranked #28 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We provide price quality food in the centre of a beautiful town . We try to find the balance between locals and tourist. Local Belgian food in a local trendy setting.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surly waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although having booked a table, 5 minutes after sitting down and ready to order we were told to leave our table because someone else had booked a window table! We had actually been told to sit there by one waiter but the surly one was taking no prisoners. No apologies at all. When we then decided to leave, a slight shrug,again no apology and a virtual look of tough sh**. They could not care because they could use the same table again straight away. The food being served there might have been very good there if we had been allowed to try it. Try De Posijlion 2minutes down the Straat. Much friendlier staff and very good food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank dicandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruut, Manager at Gruuthuse Hof, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Indeed you where seated at the wrong table.. and yes we asked you to move 1,5 meters further (indeed not a window seat) you moved and then became very irritated put your menu's down and left the building..... if you would have talked to us you we would have told you that in 15 min we would have had the best table in the restaurant for you .... why didn't we tell you that straight away ? well at that time we didn't know if the people sitting at that table would take a dessert or not.... and they didn't so they asked for the bill... by that time you where gone......even better the table that you had to leave because it was already booked didn't show up......that's people for you.
Lately since we are listed in the top 20 of TripAdvisor we have lost lots of income !!!! because we have more NO SHOWS then ever..... TripAdvisor likes to show of with better income for top listed restaurants and even offer that place for a price !! (YES MONEY !!) that's the way it goes these days . Sorry things ended up this way... but in the future PLEASE TALK and don't take you're mobile and scandalize a restaurant that took 30 years to build up..
Many thanks, Yours sincerely . Gruuthusehof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    400
    66
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sorry to say, underwhelmed, overpriced, overcooked food and a couldn't really care for the customer. Would not revisit, there is much better to be had in Bruges

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GilesLeMagnifiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“ONLY Average..........!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked because of the reviews on trip advisor , and now i am not sure why it is so high, the food is not bad , the staff show no affection to their customers , i am sure the word HOSPITALITY is in their job title ..........or maybe not.
We had not been able to get in , in January and even this week it was closed on Thursday ! which made us want to try it even more, the wine is ridiculously expensive , we had beer , good beer as well from the locale brewery .
We were given the time slot of 18.30 for 2 hours which is fine but does put you on the back foot to start with!
I had the chicken and my wife had the stew both only ok chicken was a little dry.
Chips were not as crispy as they could have been for me and no veg or option only a salad garnish
So all in all OK i would not return .............make up your own minds

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this restaurant and was not disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

After a long day of walking and sightseeing we found this lovely restaurant. The kitchen was not yet open so we enjoyed a beer on the outdoor patio and waited the 20 minutes or so until the dinner opening. The waitress asked if we had dinner reservations and we did not so she offered us the only available table as long as we were done within 2 hours. I'm glad she helped us because this restaurant is very small inside and it filled up fast; many people were turned away because they didn't have reservations. The menu prices were very reasonable and my daughter and I ordered the tourist special (soup poured tableside, steak with fries and choice of desert) which was under 20 euro while my husband had the mussels and fries. The service was very good, the food was delicious and it was so cozy and romantic inside (especially with jazz music softly playing in the background). I highly recommend this restaurant but would say call ahead for reservations first!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Frau88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Traditional restaurant with great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have passed this restaurant many times but never eaten here before. Booking is essential to avoid dissapointment. We called in Saturday lunchtime to book a table for that evening, and it was a good job we did. The restaurant was full when we entered. It has a formal, traditional look to it, which creates a relaxing, cosy atmosphere. First impressions are that this is an expensive restaurant, but this is not necessarily the case. Both a la carte and fixed menus are affordable. We mixed the two.
We both had starters. My wife had the pork chop and I enjoyed a full sized succulent Aberden Steak which came with a creamy mushroom sauce. We stuck to beer with the meal, and it came to a total a shade under 80 Euros. This is a formal restaurant in a superb location. It produces good food, which won't necessarily break your bank. Note it is closed Wednesday and Thursdays. This was a shame as we would have liked to eat here again on our last night

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bestisbest864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruuthuse Hof also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gruuthuse Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing