We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very popular restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruuthuse Hof

Gruuthuse Hof
Ranked #25 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We provide price quality food in the centre of a beautiful town . We try to find the balance between locals and tourist. Local Belgian food in a local trendy setting.
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very popular restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ate here for an evening meal with friends, three of us had the Tourist menu at €16.80 each and they offered to provide our friend with a vegetarian meal for the same price. The meals were good, the friend salmon was most enjoyable, the half a roast chicken was a real plateful and the vegetarian meal was a flan with ratatouille, all came with fries and salad. We had 9 nine Zot beers, 4 Tourist meals, 2 coffees and one tea, total cost €109.80. Service was good, choice of menu good, there were several other choices as well as the tourist offerings. You need to book as this is a very popular restaurant and is closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    404
    66
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, Commendable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although we arrived at 6.30 p.m. without booking, and the restaurant was fully booked from 8 p.m. we were given a very warm welcome but told in very polite terms that we would need to finish by 8 p.m.
We stayed and were not disappointed. This is a lovely, attractive restaurant near to the Markt (but easily accessible from anywhere in the city) where they pride themselves on quality service and quality food.. Our expectations were high but easily satisfied; we were treated admirably and the food was beautifully presented, delicious and good value for money.
Yes, we were finished just before 8 p.m, but we did not feel hurried and when we left the waiter gave us a little knowing nod.
A wonderful experience especially for our last night in Bruges.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked a table at Gruuthouse Hof after reading the glowing reviews on trip advisor. The only reason I haven't given it an excellent score is because of a slip up with our reservation in which they had double booked our table; which delayed our seating by half an hour.
However, by the end of the evening our initial disappointment & frustration had completely dissolved. We ate from the tourist menu which was around 18 euros per person (or thereabouts) for a 3 course meal. The service was formal and although the restaurant is very small the atmosphere was sophisticated and relaxed- perfect for a romantic dinner or a special occasion. The food was delicious and extremely reasonably priced, all-in-all a fantastic place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderfull brugges dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate here twice, it was very cosey and the food was wonderfull.
Ist night we were lucky then we booked for our last , The duck, steak and tuna, dishes were great washed down with Brugges local beer!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chailey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Last night dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Small and intimate atmosphere. Superb tourist menu, even in the evening. Excellent service with linen napkins! Drinks were reasonably priced too, which was a surprise. For our last night in Bruges it was a fitting finale. Make sure you book first (050/330614). It's very popular!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PRM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruuthuse Hof also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gruuthuse Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing