We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a lovely atmosphere”
Review of Gruuthuse Hof

Gruuthuse Hof
Ranked #24 of 724 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We provide price quality food in the centre of a beautiful town . We try to find the balance between locals and tourist. Local Belgian food in a local trendy setting.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had a lovely meal at Gruuthuse Hof during a recent stay in Bruges. The atmosphere is warm & inviting and the food was excellent. I had a traditional Flemish Stew, whilst my other half had a huge dish of beautiful fresh mussels. The wine list is varied & they asked us if we'd mind changing our original white choice as they didn't have a bottle chilled, rather than serve us a warm bottle. Service was excellent, so all in all a good choice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dov6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    418
    66
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Bruges.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Charming and cozy. Dinner was wonderful. Nice selection on the menu. Crowded but not noisy. Loved the soft jazz music. We had the chicken dish. With a great pepper cream sauce. Service was prompt and professional. Good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A taste of Bruges!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We ate there for our anniversary-lovely atmosphere. Flemish stew (local speciality)and rack of lamb were both outstanding. Would have eaten there again but closed Wednesday and Thursday.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for coffee”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Friendly service and good value for money. Great place to sit outside with a coffee or beer and watch the world go by.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb693000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a lunch !”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great place - well situated - great food.

Had my first experience of Stoverij here ( Flemish Stew) and my wife had the Fish soup - if you havent had them, they are both a must !

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mandlWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruuthuse Hof also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gruuthuse Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing