We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chagall

Chagall
Ranked #142 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food was fresh and tasty. Two in our party had the special, the beef Flemish stew and it was exceptional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    175
    54
    16
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect last night in Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at The Acacia Hotel,( see my review), Chagall was about 50m away and was ideal for a rainy Friday night, the last of our short stay in this beautiful city. I had read some less than glowing reports on this site but decided to chance it anyway. I can only conclude that those not bowled over by the bistro were very unlucky as we found it excellent in all respects. We were glad to have made reservations as the place was buzzing when we got there at around 8ish. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our table , this is a small restaurant, made smaller by the inclement weather au terasse. We had onion soup to start, a subtle variation on the French, delicious! and accompanied by generous chunks of bread and fresh butter. This restaurant does not do "Nouvelle Cuisine", it is hearty fare as we found with our mains. I had the Flemish stew which was wonderful, my wife who would normally order fish, chose pork fillet and thoroughly enjoyed it , both meals were served with a selection of vegetables and the , obligatory, frites, I opted for an "Oude Genever" as a digestif, the waiter explained the various types and their character, the closest I can describe it is a mix between Grappa and Hungarian Palinka, it was a lovely way to finish a lovely evening, I would strongly recommend a visit to this excellent little restaurant , avoid the tourist traps in Markt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chagall was an excellent find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate at this very cosy restaurant for 3 nights in a row and one lunchtime. Our party of 6 included a coeliac and the owner was very careful to point out what he could/could not eat. He understood perfectly our request. He advised us on the "special" of the day, which was always excellent. The moules were fantastic. The wine was reasonably priced and to our taste. It'll be our first stop for a meal should we return to Bruges.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent mussels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 8 and had an excellent experience at this restaurant contray to the other reviews.

We sat outside and had not made a reservation. Waitress was very attentive and made some good recommendations on what to drink and eat. I had the house mussels which excellent and contained a hint of port in a creamy sauce. I can thoroughly recommend this with bread, chips and mayonaise.

All in all a very nice restaurant that appears to be always busy and for good reason it seems!

Xxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jpavalanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This little restaurant is a 5 minute walk north off the market square. Not only did we enjoy our best food in Bruges it was also one of the most reasonably priced. I had the spare ribs which were as good as I have eaten in any american style resaurant and not what I expected in a small family restuarant in Bruges. The service was very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bilje113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chagall also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Chagall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing