We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ridderspoor Holiday Flats
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value and good location”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed in the top floor apartment for 3 nights and would definitely recommend this apartment. Excellent heating (most important in winter as some holiday apartments can be somewhat parsimonious in this area), quiet but central location and very good value. This is not luxury accommodation by any means but the price reflects this. But it was clean, the kitchen reasonably equipped and the bed was comfortable. The lovely view was an added bonus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsaritsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were told by elderly relatives that Belgians were ruder than the French, we had quite the opposite experience!! At Brussels station we asked the information stand for directions and the man there was sooo so helpful, the train from Brussels to Brugges was lovely. When we got to Brugges our cab driver was lovely and dropped us right at the door to the flat.

We let ourselves in with no problems and were so impressed with the main foyer! It is beautiful. We stayed in the 1st floor Apartment, Damme, it is gorgeous! It was huge! we were just a couple so there was tons of room but it could happily sleep 6 if you used the bunk beds and sofas. We didn't really eat in but the kitchen was well equipped and bright. The bed was very comfy and the huge windows were a gorgeous way to wake up naturally.
All in all the apartment was perfect, our only criticism is there was no breakfast tea in the caddy provided and no milk. Even just a little pot of UHT milk would of been great to satisfy our very British need for tea when we arrived!

Room Tip: The bottom flat is the best for families as the parental bed is separate from the kids. The top fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed in the loft on the top floor: Loft 3 Cadzand. It had a beautiful view. Close walk to the main square and the sights. The apartment was clean, simple and nicely decorated. Computer included as well. Information booklet is nicely put together (it shows a map, recommended tourist sites, restaurants, drinking establishments and supermarkets). Little television, the sofa was “ok”, it can be upgraded. Equipped kitchen with all the plates & utensils you need. A lovely apartment and we would defiantly return. Perfectly located.

A few points of improvement. The hot water took a long while to start flowing; therefore it was a bit of a challenge to get the right temperature for our shower (note: in this apartment, it wasn't a stand up shower, it was a "telephone" shower in the bathtub). Also, we were there in October, and the nights were a little chilly, and the heaters never started up, even after we thought we turned them on, it wasn’t very cold, but would have been a little more comfortable. Clear instructions would be appreciated. Finally we booked at the last minute and didn’t always have internet access, so we didn’t know where to meet to collect the key – that caused a little bit of confusion, but it all ended up working out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Couple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the ground floor flat for 3 nights and it was great. The location was perfect - within minutes of the canals, the markt, the burg, and the shopping streets. Supermarket is within minutes too. The bedroom is within a mezzanine so you do not have any noisy neigbours above you. You also have a charming little garden which is very private. All in all, thoroughly recommended:-)!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petitpois2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed in the Damme room on the second floor for 4 days. The ground floor is the street level, so the "first floor" is up some stairs. My husband and I had the double bed and my mom slept in the bottom of the two bunk beds in the bedroom. The beds were warm & comfy, the living area had ample seating, and the wooden dining table was large. Having a kitchen with everything you need except food was great. You really need a fridge to keep the wonderful Belgian beer cold.

The apartment comes with a computer with free internet -- very handy for checking email, reviewing train schedules, getting maps, etc. Unlike the hotels, breakfast is not included. However, we had more room to spread out than the 3 of us would have had in a triple hotel room for about the same cost.

The toilet is in a small separate room on the hall. The shower and sink are in a different room on the hall. This arrangement is quite handy as the WC is available during showers.
All linens were provided, but note that washcloths are considered personal items in Belgium. There was a washing machine in the apartment, and a dryer in the basement. There's also a lovely patio area, but it was too cold in October to use it.

Djamil is the proprietor. He's very friendly. He happed to be nearby when we arrived and welcomed us. Take a moment to look through the notebook with info about Brugge, restaurants, chocolateries, lace shops, etc. Djamil runs the B&B and lives just down the street. Remember to ask him to return your deposit check when you pay him in cash.

The location is on a quiet street just a couple of blocks from Markt. A taxi from the train station to the Ridderspoor costs about 10 euros (plus tip). You could walk from the bus stop near Markt or the library with luggage if you had to.

The streets are hard cobblestones, so wear comfy, well-padded shoes or you will quickly have sore feet. I wore NB 680s with a gel sole and still had trouble.

Overall, I would stay at the Ridderspoor again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The hot water is an on-demand system. If it cuts over to cold water during a shower, don't pani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai,hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a great stay in the ground floor apartment. Very spacious accomadations for the three of us. We loved how central it was to everything in Brugge. It was also great to be able to cook some of our meals as well as being able to wash our clothes. Checking in was easy. Would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surf808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My brother and I stayed in the 2nd floor apartment here and loved it. The apartment was large and spacious with a rustic feel. The kitchen facilities were very useful since Bruges is not the cheapest of places to eat out in.
Checking in was easy and the owners were very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardTWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Bonobo Apart Hotel
Bonobo Apart Hotel
#4 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridderspoor Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridderspoor Holiday Flats

Property: Ridderspoor Holiday Flats
Address: Riddersstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridderspoor Holiday Flats 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is divided into four spacious holiday flats (ground floor apartment with 2 bedrooms, 1st and 2nd floor studio/apartments with 1 bedroom each and with comfortable sleeping facilities in the living rooms, spacious loft on the third floor). The interior of this neo-classical mansion from 1856 has been renovated recently and adapted with up to date comforts and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ridderspoor Holiday Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing