We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridderspoor Holiday Flats
Ranked #15 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Bruges. Taking a three year old anywhere can prove to be difficult, especially in terms of appropriate accommodation. Ridderspoor was wonderful, both in terms of it's locality to the main attractions and also in respect of the accomodation layout. It offered us plenty of space and felt authentic to the surroundings. Much nicer, I think, than staying in a hotel. We will deffinately look to stay here again, if in Bruges.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roydenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Excellent accommodation in the centre of Bruges. Burg square and the Markt are only a few blocks away. The building has some old fashioned charm. The 1st floor apartment (Damme) was bright, clean and comfortable. The computer provided was very useful for checking tourist info and events. The appartments manager was helpful, full of local information and produced an iron straight away when we found we didn't have one. There is a handy supermarket about 5 mins away in Langestraat. Toilet could do with a wash-hand basin - you have to come out and use the bathroom to wash your hands. The light bulb in it was also very dim. Single room sleeps 4 and was fine for the 3 of us but may not suit all regarding privacy (or snoring!). Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_J_P_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Blown away by the interior of this building - they have done a marvellous job at renovating and decorating this place. Breakfast is the best I've had in a while - a great spread, in front of a stunning windowframe, at one big table with other guests. Great, warm atmosphere.
Not easy to find, so do take a map. We slept at the top flat with view onto the Belfort. Great apartment, had to find the geezer for hot water first but then tip top. only negative point = the bed. not a good mattress and bedding, so there is room for improvement there. But all in all, i do recommend this wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtarElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in the apartment on the first floor for a week and were amazed on opening the door how big and spacious it was. The photos on the website didn't quite do it justice. It was very clean and comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped to cater for yourself as much as you wanted to. Our huge bedroom had bunk beds as well as the large bed so plenty of room for a family. There is a washing machine, iron and ironingboard and the use of a dryer. The computer provided was very useful to keep in touch with family etc. We had a little trouble with the hot water while we were there but it was quickly attended to.
The closest supermarket is about a 10 minute walk.
The location is great, very close to all the sites and plenty of restaurants but not in the thick of it. There is a great Moroccan restaurant "Ryad" just around the corner. Fabulous food though the service was a little slow the night we went there.
Brugge is a fantastic place to spend some extended time in, just mooching around exploring all its little laneways, bridges and canals.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ducktales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our room was very spacious, the staff was very friendly, and the location was amazing. We made memories that will last a lifetime. The free wifi was a very nice touch. If you are looking for a very nice apartment to stay for a few nights in Bruges I would absolutely recommend these apartments. We felt they were priced well, were very comfortable and it served all of our needs extremely well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Travelling with an 18 month old and a 4 year old we decided to avoid the hotels and stay somewhere with a little more flexibility. I liked the flat that we stayed in - though it had a few niggles, nothing substantial.

We stayed in the Knokke apartment on the second floor - advertised as having a nice view of the Belfry over the roof-tops, which sure enough it did. It is a short walk from the main market square on a road that feels residential and that was quiet at night. It was pleasantly furnished though I would have preferred a 'proper' sofa to sit on rather than the sofa bed that would quietly slide apart as I relaxed in the evening.

The set-up was that it was a long room that had a dividing door that could be closed at night to create two spaces. All the beds - a double and bunks (plus a travel cot provided by the owners for us) were at the end that could be sectioned away though obviously there wasn't much sound proofing in this arrangement! The small bathroom was separate - with only a shower (no bath), and then there was a small but well-equipped kitchen at the other end.

Staying in the Knokke apartment we were on the middle level so had people beneath us and above in the loft. There was no noise from below but it did sound like a small herd of elephants had moved into the loft upon occasion - which made me a little nervous for my 4 year old's 'fairy footsteps' for those living downstairs!

All in all, I was happy with our stay - many more positives than negatives - nice to stay in a place with a bit of character and with the owners just down the street I'm sure that they would have been happy to help had we had any real issues at all. As a postscript - parking at the flat isn't really an option but there is a cheap big carpark at the central station which cost €2.50 for 24 hrs when we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BelJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the loft on the top floor. The flats are well decorated and offer many facilities such as a hi fi, a map showing recommended tourist sites, restaurants, drinking establishments and supermarkets (which is a must as this flat is all self catered), tv and all the kitchen utensils you need. Only down point was that the hot water was not working properly when we were staying so having a shower was a fun experience. Just a tip that you should report problems to the owners otherwise they'll never find out about them as they don't stay in the lofts themselves.

The personalised post-it note on the door was also a nice touch

If you're staying on a Sunday, don't forget to check out the unique "museum" round the corner on Twijnstraat called Retsin's Lucifernum - this was one of the highlights of my visit to Bruges as well as one of the most bizaare.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
De Drie Koningen
De Drie Koningen
#1 of 38 in Bruges
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.2 mi away
Maison Amodio b&b
Maison Amodio b&b
#6 of 38 in Bruges
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridderspoor Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridderspoor Holiday Flats

Address: Riddersstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: $140 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridderspoor Holiday Flats 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is divided into four spacious holiday flats (ground floor apartment with 2 bedrooms, 1st and 2nd floor studio/apartments with 1 bedroom each and with comfortable sleeping facilities in the living rooms, spacious loft on the third floor). The interior of this neo-classical mansion from 1856 has been renovated recently and adapted with up to date comforts and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ridderspoor Holiday Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing