We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent way to see Bruge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quasimundo Bike Tours

Quasimundo Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quasimundo biketours Bruges has been offering entertaining bikerides in the medieval city of Bruges and the surrounding flatlands since 12 years . A fun experience for all those bike riding enthousiasts & history lovers . Our local guides make you feel this wonderful city like we locals do....on a bicycle.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent way to see Bruge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Thomas was our bike tour guide and he was fantastic and very informative! The day which we decided to take the tour was probably not the best as the market was on in the main square which made it a little harder to navigate, none the less Thomas made sure no man was left behind even with our big group of 20 or so people. It was a great way to see Bruge and we even got a free beer at the oldest pub in town. Highly recommended for all ages and riding experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    40
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The must do tour in Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great bike tour that took in the best sights of Bruges, but also took you off down the back streets that you may not think to go down. Our guide was very knowledgeable explaining to us a lot of facts, we learnt a lot about Bruges! You travel around at a very leisurely pace, finishing with a beer at Bruges' oldest pub, the Vlissinghe. Would recommend to do at the beginning of your trip to get your bearings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip! Book it and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My college-age daughter and I did back-to-back bike tours with the indefatigable Jos, and it was among the highlights of our European trip back in May of this year. In the morning we did the Brugge/city tour, and in the afternoon we did the countryside one out to Damme and back. (Jos warned us we might get a little tired or sore. As it turned out, we were... a bit. In one area. Ahem. But hey, we were warned!)

As research here on TA showed beforehand, the pace of the cycling was fine -- pleasant exercise (which, if you're in Belgium, is a good idea after all the great frites, waffles, etc.) plus a chance to feel like a low-country native on a decent bike, just sans spandex.
Jos was a great guide -- good humored, patient with just a dash of sass, true historical knowledge and commentary that ranged from middle ages, to the 20th century world wars, to today's Europe. Dukedoms, economies, architecture... Oh, and classic rock of the last few decades. Quite a far-flung repertoire. :) Jos is also an award-winning theater-festival performer. This makes perfect sense, as many a good actor is also a true history buff!

And the sights? As the photos here on TA show you, absolutely lovely! (This is an occasion when an expensive sports-mounted-camera would be so worth it. You do stop, of course, frequently, and thus can take pictures, but the whole ride is memorable. If you see my review of yet another bike tour in France this comment will ring a bell.)

(Note that while the speed and elevation are absolutely manageable - there will be a few road/intersection/car portions that might give a more faint-hearted tourist pause. But just stay with the group and follow the directions and you'll be fine.)

The (included) stops for local beers were well-timed and thoroughly enjoyed. You can get something to eat, too, though that will be at your own additional cost.

We heartily recommend both the "city" tour and the "country" one -- just not, perhaps, the same day, unless you truly have "buns of steel..."

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClassicalEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A countryside ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a beautiful afternoon for a ride in the countryside of Bruge to the border town of Damme and back. Our guide Thomas was full of great stories and carefully guided out if the town then beside the canals. A stop at a local pub for a beer and waffle made it a very pleasurable experience. Full marks to Thomas!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank merito_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun bike tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We did the border by bike tour and had a great time. Our guide was very entertaining and we enjoyed riding thru the countryside. The tour was around 25 km roundtrip and was an easy ride, no large hills to maneuver. You stop in the town of Damme and our guide bought us all a beer or drink of our choice which we thought was a nice touch. During the break we had the opportunity to ask the tour guide questions and we mingled with others on the tour as well before heading back to Bruges. We thought it was well worth the money and it was nice to get away from the crowds of Bruges for a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandy_bottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quasimundo Bike Tours also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Quasimundo Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing