We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local and casual”
Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
Ranked #125 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kitchen open from 12:00 till 23:00
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“local and casual”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we arrived early evening and was recommended this for a casual meal by the hotel we were staying in. the food was good but basic as was the menu on the whole, it got very busy as we were leaving and had a very nice local bar feel about it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 801charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    195
    31
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex In The UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Came For The Spaghetti”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My other half loves her pasta, so I decided to take her to what's been described as the best spaghetti in Bruges.

The place is more like a little local pub. My fiancée had the Spaghetti which was good and she couldn't finish it all. And I had the Diablo lasagne which was very good, the bits of mince where big and meaty and the tomato sauce rich and thick. Tho it wasnt really that spicy to me, but they didn't matter as there was pot of Tabasco on the table!

Definitely lived up to its well deserved reputation, should be a stop on everyone's list if you don't mind hanging out with the locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitze90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice local pub with inexpensive food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate here early on a Tuesday evening and it quickly filled up with locals. The staff were friendly enough, but you sometimes had to get their attention. I had the spaghetti (8 euros), which was filling and tasty, and my wife said the same about the croque monsieur (7 euros). We added two beers, a cocktail and a glass of wine and the bill was less than 35 Euros. When you need a regular meal after or before a day of "fine dining," this is a great choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice pub style restaurant with great food and service!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I would reccommend this restaurant!! Really nice food, looked like a simple plain menu at first until we tried the food. We had food from the specials board and it was all fantastic! Red pesto pasta, Thai wok stir fry and burgers. Beer selection is also nice. We would revisit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrystalA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spaghetti reputation”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Chosen at random, found it had a reputation for excellent spaghetti dishes. We chose same and found reputation well deserved.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaOldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing