We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of In't Nieuw Museum

In't Nieuw Museum
Reserve with
In't Nieuw Museum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $55
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant we originally wanted closed on Sunday, and we rather stumbled on to this, but what a find. Staff who knew their food & beers, freshly on an open grill prepared food with great sauces and a good use of spices and herbs. Mostly meat but veggie was good too, the desserts were divine. Not a posh or plush or luxurious place, but for a nice evening with good food & friends, ideal.

Helpful?
Thank Bonglabongla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    180
    35
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Chef Keon cooked the most delicious steak on a 17th century open grill/fire within the dining room and was cooked exactly to our taste. The restaurant is small, cozy and very friendly. The huge tender steaks were served with salad and frites. Plenty on menu to choose from. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cockneyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steaks, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had a great meal here on a rainy August Monday evening. Makes a great change from the busy tourist bars and restaurants in the centre. Great service, steak cooked well - although be aware that rare means rare here (we are used to asked for rare in France and allowing for the chef to think - they're English, they don't really mean it!). After a delicious chocolate mousse we left hardly able to move - and a walk around the town admiring the lights was much needed to walk off all we'd eaten. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitstabubble0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely family - run bistro pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We sought this place out again after discovering it on a trip the year before. Unassuming pub in a Bruges backstreet. It is popular so book before walking out to it. Definitely for meat eaters and all food is cooked to order on the traditional fire in the bar. So enjoy a few Belgium beers while you wait. Service is a bit disorganised but hey, it's a great atmosphere and everyone is friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple fare cooked beautifully”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Eight of us descended on this little restaurant in a backwater of Bruges on a Sunday evening. I'm glad we booked because it was full. The restaurant's menu revolves around fabulous steaks cooked over a fire so this is not really one to take your veggie friends to although there are a couple of veggie options on the menu. Our steak was utterly delectable and the accompanying sauces were excellent although I must confess that I have no clue why they've taken sauce bearnaise off the menu (they did provide it on request though).

There was a good range of Belgian beers and the wine was apparently very good; there was a small but perfectly adequate choice of puddings and our lovely waitress was completely unphased by my other half asking whether he could have a starter for his pudding. He chose snails in garlic butter, which smelled fabulous!

This was our second trip to this restaurant, the first being about three years ago.mit was just as good as we remembered it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimperleyEarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In't Nieuw Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to In't Nieuw Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing