We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem.....the best hot chocolate in Brugge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea-room De Proeverie

Tea-room De Proeverie
Ranked #3 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tea-room "De Proeverie" is an extension of the famous chocolate shop "chocolaterie Sukerbuyc" located opposite, on the same street. It serves cakes and chocolate fantasies and waffles, all made on the premises by family recipes. No pancakes or ice, instead you can savor a whole range of exquisite cakes while enjoying a coffee break by light baroque music.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
238 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An absolute gem.....the best hot chocolate in Brugge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We first visited this tea room two years ago on a cold soggy autumn day, when my wife and daughter discovered the delights of making ones own hot chocolate, and have had to return each time we have visited since. The cakes are fresh and homemade, and each hot drink is served with a small sample of chocolates. There is also on impressive array of teas and a selection of coffees.

Helpful?
Thank Fen_Scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    124
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate, tea and extra's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well, we stopped for a coffee, but ordered a tea and a hot chocolate. It was an experience, melted chocolate which you then poured into the hot milk and it came with a belgium chocolate as well. A first class stop, likely our best afternoon tea in a month in Europe.
Plus the prices were very reasonable with excellent value with the extra's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate is devine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Came by here for some delicious Belgian hot chocolate based on tripadvisor reviews. I'm so glad we did, the hot chocolate was so good! They bring you hot milk, a side of melty dark chocolate & whip cream along with some small chocolates.

We also tried a vanilla cupcake - the frosting is incredibly sweet - and the Michalangeo - so good. The hot chocolate was 5 euros, cupcake 3 euros, other desserts 4 euros.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSmythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“To the hip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great cake, good coffee (hard to find), friendly service, beautiful presentation, with lots of unexpected extras (I seemed to have 4-5 chocolates on the side of my delicious apple loaf). My partner's apple tart/crumble (pictured) was equally scrumptious and well endowed. Great if you want a treat, have a sweet tooth, follow a rigorous exercise regime :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was a very cold rainy day and we were really cold, so we went to the first cafe on our way...It was De Proeverie. And the next day we came again...
Well, at first, it was very warm there and cosy because of the fireplace:) Than, the atmoshere and service - also very warm and nice! And, the most important thing - drinks and pastry! Amazing hot chocolate, big choise of coffe and tea (not tea bags -the first time during our trip in Belgium!) and very tasty home made cake, really huge portion! Besides, they serve every drink with three pieces of different chocolate. So, forget about the diet:)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea-room De Proeverie also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tea-room De Proeverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing