We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe every word, this place is fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Ranked #3 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked this b&b on the basis of the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor and other sites, and we are so glad we did. Fabulous location, wonderful rooms all decorated beautifully and hosts so helpful and friendly, but without being intrusive. I hope to find such high quality accommodation in every other city we ever visit! Thanks to you both for a lovely stay in Bruges :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 457 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is just the most beautiful haven right near the centre of Bruges. The elevator made lugging the luggage easy, our welcome from Marianne was great, covering all the things we needed to know about the house and the locality, and our later meeting with hosts Kees and Kathleen was the warmest without being at all intrusive.
The room was spacious with an easy walk in shower, huge bed, wifi and chairs to relax, all immaculately clean. Ours overlooked the garden and fish pond with resident turtle, a canal and the park beyond, so all very green and relaxing. The breakfast was plentiful, and when you thought you had eaten it all, eggs were offered as well, any way you liked.
Kees helped us plan a lovely walk on our second day to take in all the points of interest we wanted, and he also steered us to some less seen areas such as the back canals and gardens and recommended some excellent restaurants.
We loved that the house was in such easy walking distance of the squares and churches, but quiet and in a residential area. A real find and one of our highlights so far on the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It's difficult to add to the already great reviews of this B&B. However, what's important to know is that it's all true and then some. Bruges was the first stop on a multi-city vacation in Belgium and the Netherlands, and this bed and breakfast set a very high standard with which it was difficult for others to compete. Staying here is like having your own little place in Bruges. The room we had, overlooking the canal and park, was very large and well- appointed. Kees and Kathleen thought of everything. What we really loved was the combination of old and new - for example, the original beams of the house are exposed, yet the bathroom is extremely modern. The setting itself is magical, with the canal behind the house and the swans swimming by. It's a very quiet, tranquil setting. Everything is top-notch, particularly the breakfast. We will strive to find the equal of this lovely bed and breakfast wherever our travels take us in the future, but we know that we will be challenged to do so. Many thanks to Kathleen and Kees, who have created an exceptional experience for travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennysMom08003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Six or seven years ago the owner, Kees, renovated his canal side property to include two guest suites. It is now modern in the best sense of the word. The contrast with the 17th century city is stunning. Step off the ancient road into a beautiful entry. Look straight through the house to the lovely garden, canal and park at the back. Walk upstairs (or take the elevator) to your spacious, quiet en suite room overlooking the garden. The owners knock themselves out to make you feel comfortable. Kees serves a wonderful breakfast; Kathleen is an accomplished potter. Ask to see her beautiful porcelain pieces. The garage was an added bonus.

Room Tip: We saw only one of the two rooms. Ours overlooked the beautiful city garden and canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great B&B which good rooms and a nice and delicious breakfast. The rooms are very clean and the owner, Kees, is nice and friendly. We love this stay and if we are planning a trip again. We will book again a room at Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei. In other words a great stay for a trip to Brugge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ewout P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My mother and I stayed two nights at the Speelmansrei. She has some difficultly getting around and this property was easy for her. There is an elevator. The location close to the center meant she didn't have to walk so far.
Breakfast was great. The eggs were done to perfection. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I wouldn't say this property is handicap accessible, there was a step going into our room for ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bvh520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had an amazing time in Bruges and it started with Kees and Kathleen at Speelmansrei. When we left, I felt like we were leaving friends. They were wonderful, genteel hosts and were so helpful with restaurant recommendations, sightseeing, bicycle rentals- they could answer any question we had. In addition, Kees mapped a walk for us that would familiarize us with the area. Since we arrived early on a Saturday, Kees recommended visiting the market- a brilliant idea as it was filled with interesting foods, flowers and animals! The location of the B and B was terrific, just about a 20 minute walk from the train station. It was so close to the Markt and the walk was lovely!! We did it every day, sometimes more than once, so it is a perfect location to get to all the sights. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, a terrific way to start the day! Kees made us scrambled eggs and bacon every day!! Our room was beautiful- bright,roomy, and spotless (and we had a canal view from the bathroom). The wi-fi worked perfectly which was crucial for our work. The bathroom was well-appointed with bright lighting and lovely toiletries! We could not have asked for a nicer, friendlier place to stay and I would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,319 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B La Maison Bruges
B&B La Maison Bruges
#4 of 232 in Bruges
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huis Koning
Huis Koning
#1 of 232 in Bruges
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Goede 13 B&B
De Goede 13 B&B
#2 of 232 in Bruges
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Address: Moerstraat 72, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $129 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B GUESTROOMS - SPEELMANSREIGENERAL INFORMATION In the course of 2005 and 2006 we rebuilt two historical houses in the heart of the ancient center of Bruges.With modern comfort ad a surplus they were transformed into a single residence with B & B guestrooms.( An elevator is available).During the rebuilding we carefully respected the unique character of the houses and the centuries old rafters were integrated with the architectural concept.You will enjoy the new comfortable bathrooms made of natural raw materials, the marble floors, the basalt washing stands.A separate breakfast room is at the guests' disposal. ROOMS:We have two rooms on the first floor with view on a park.They are both provided with shower and/ or bath, a lavatory, a washing stand with two wash-basins, colour-tv,fridge,wifi internet, a safe and spacious double beds of top quality.Also access to the rooms by elevator. BREAKFAST:In the separate breakfast room an extensive breakfast buffet is served. Every day you can get newly baked French rolls, croissants, different kinds of cheese and sliced meats, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals etc. LANGUAGES We make ourselves hard in Dutch, French, Italian, German, English, Spanish and Danish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing