We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful B&B in a Beautiful City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Ranked #4 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Beautiful B&B in a Beautiful City”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We cannot say enough about this wonderful B&B! The location was perfect, close to the Markt. Our room was spacious, spotless and beautifully decorated. From the high end finishes to the soft wall color, the room was very comfortable. Our hosts, Kees and Kathleen were wonderful and gracious, helping us find just the right places for dinner and allowing us to leave our luggage on our last day, so that we could enjoy the city to the last minute. We are thankful that we were able to stay at Speelmansrei.

Kees and Kathleen - we sincerely hope to come visit again, you made our visit to Brugge very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltm1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
324
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I can only echo the reviews here. We had a three night stay in room number one overlooking the street. Very quiet, very comfortable but only 5 minutes walk to all the action. The B&B is beautiful. Kees was extremely hospitable and full of information. I have read the previous entry about the taxi driver. Kees had sent us a map when he confirmed our booking so this was not a problem for us, our taxi went straight there.
All in all an amazing stay in an amazing place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I agree with everyone who gave this place an excellent rating. Very friendly hosts, lovely large room (we had the front one overlooking the street), and excellent location. Beautiful view of the canal in the back garden.

My only warning -- the cab we took from the train station hadn't heard of this place, and tried to claim the address didn't exist. Luckily I had a map along that showed where it was, so he eventually got us within a block, to where the street was one was the wrong way, and we walked from there. So make sure you have the address and maybe a map if you take a cab!

Room Tip: Either room is very nice -- it's a very quiet street, so noise isn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppy_raisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing break here. The reviews accurately reflect what a lovely place this is to stay.
We had a beautiful, very spacious bedroom with a bath. My father had the bedroom at the back which overlooks the garden and has just a shower. Both bedrooms are very spacious and quiet. Although the front room overlooks the street we heard no noise at all. The bathroom of the front bedroom faces the canal at the back so both have a view.
Kees and Kathleen are generous and kind hosts. Breakfast was great and the house is beautifully decorated. They are keen to help with recommendations and you are able to come and go as you please. Finally, being able to park your car in their garage is such a bonus.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This bed and breakfast is excellent. Kees and his wife are really kind and helpful. The bedroom was spotless clean, the breakfast was amazing. I really recommend it!! I'm sure I'll stay here again next time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitefed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic few days in Bruges. The Speelmansrei B & B was fantastic and really added to our experience of this beautiful city. I had read the reviews before going and all I can say is that it is even better than described. The owners, Kees and Kathleen couldn't be more friendly and are full of tips on getting the best from your stay (the best walks, places to eat, etc) Breakfast was delicious and the room was spacious, immaculately clean and very tastefully decorated (very light with lovely large windows, wooden floors and white wooden ceiling), as well as having a lovely bathroom. The house has such stylish interiors that I just assumed that the owners were interior designers (but apparently not). The B&B could not be more convenient for seeing the city - with the main market square being a very short walk . At the same time, its location is on a quiet street, so we slept well with no disturbances. We will definitely be returning and I can't recommend this B&B highly enough - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights stay at Speelmansrei, Kathleen and Kees were the perfect hosts. We were there probably during the coldest 3 nights of the winter but we were very cosy and warm in our bedroom overlooking the canal. The place is luxurious and every detail is catered for. Just a short walk to the market but it is very quiet. Kees recommends restaurants and walks round the canals. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to other visitors of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Property: Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Address: Moerstraat 72, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B GUESTROOMS - SPEELMANSREIGENERAL INFORMATION In the course of 2005 and 2006 we rebuilt two historical houses in the heart of the ancient center of Bruges.With modern comfort ad a surplus they were transformed into a single residence with B & B guestrooms.( An elevator is available).During the rebuilding we carefully respected the unique character of the houses and the centuries old rafters were integrated with the architectural concept.You will enjoy the new comfortable bathrooms made of natural raw materials, the marble floors, the basalt washing stands.A separate breakfast room is at the guests' disposal. ROOMS:We have two rooms on the first floor with view on a park.They are both provided with shower and/ or bath, a lavatory, a washing stand with two wash-basins, colour-tv,fridge,wifi internet, a safe and spacious double beds of top quality.Also access to the rooms by elevator. BREAKFAST:In the separate breakfast room an extensive breakfast buffet is served. Every day you can get newly baked French rolls, croissants, different kinds of cheese and sliced meats, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals etc. LANGUAGES We make ourselves hard in Dutch, French, Italian, German, English, Spanish and Danish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing