We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Ranked #3 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic few days in Bruges. The Speelmansrei B & B was fantastic and really added to our experience of this beautiful city. I had read the reviews before going and all I can say is that it is even better than described. The owners, Kees and Kathleen couldn't be more friendly and are full of tips on getting the best from your stay (the best walks, places to eat, etc) Breakfast was delicious and the room was spacious, immaculately clean and very tastefully decorated (very light with lovely large windows, wooden floors and white wooden ceiling), as well as having a lovely bathroom. The house has such stylish interiors that I just assumed that the owners were interior designers (but apparently not). The B&B could not be more convenient for seeing the city - with the main market square being a very short walk . At the same time, its location is on a quiet street, so we slept well with no disturbances. We will definitely be returning and I can't recommend this B&B highly enough - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 439 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights stay at Speelmansrei, Kathleen and Kees were the perfect hosts. We were there probably during the coldest 3 nights of the winter but we were very cosy and warm in our bedroom overlooking the canal. The place is luxurious and every detail is catered for. Just a short walk to the market but it is very quiet. Kees recommends restaurants and walks round the canals. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to other visitors of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

There's nothing to be said that hasn't already been said here. Kees and Kathleen made us feel like old friends and the location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the Markt but in a quiet street where the neighbours wish you a cheery "goedemorgen". Kees's delicious bacon & eggs served on stylish plates designed by Kathleen will live on in the memory.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here just recently for 2 nights. Booked in largely on the reviews from Tripadvisor and am very glad to say that they are all 100% correct.
Kees and Kathleen provided helpful communication prior to our arrival, greeted us when we arrived and were extremely friendly. The house is wonderful, in a quiet street that backs onto a canal, room 2 has nice views from bedroom and bathroom windows overlooking the canal and a garden.
If travelling only with small luggage you could easily walk from the train station, however it's no more than 5 mins and about 8 Euros in a cab.
Rooms are very comfortable, big beds, TV, stereo system, tea/coffee facilities, even a safe. Bathrooms are large and clean.
Kees is also very keen to give tips for restaurants, walking tours, anything really that you want to know about Brugge, they will help you with.
Highly recommend this place if you're visiting Brugge.
Wonderful breakfast, cheese, ham, yoghurt, tea/coffee, breads and croissants, fruit, juice, and Kees also cooks eggs & bacon to your liking.

Room Tip: Only have a choice of 2 rooms... Room 2 has nice views overlooking canal & garden, Room 1 has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Speelmansrei for two nights and can't fault the place: the owners Kees and Kathleen made us feel incredibly welcome and it was simply gorgeous.

There are only two bedrooms so it feels intimate and homely. Our bedroom (number 2) was understated luxury, really warm (which was much needed after the cold of Bruges!) and really quiet. The breakfast was fantastic, continental, choice of teas, and Kees cooked us up some eggs and bacon. The place is extremely tasteful and features a lot of Kathleen's art....we were eating off her homemade plates which I would have loved to have bought home! Kees recommended a walk which took us away from the beaten track and was really picturesque...they both were simply lovely.

The B&B is really close to the Markt so an easy walk to all attractions.

With only a couple of days in Bruges we explored a lot but given the chance we would have loved to have chilled out at Speelmansrei a bit more as we loved it so much. We can't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineBaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our room in this exceptional B & B had everything - quiet spacious, light and comfortable with every mod con, lovely view of the garden, canal and park from the window. Good bathroom with great shower and twin basins, big soft fluffy towels, tea & coffee facilities, TV with british channels etc etc. The location is ideal being very central (5 mins walk to market square) but tucked away in a quiet street. Breakfast was delicious. Kees and Kathleen were charming hosts, friendly and helpful with a great sense of humour. We loved it here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As already stated this is an excellent B n B.
Extremley friendly hosts who were only too keen to make sure we got the best experience of Bruges.

The accomodation is spotless and modern. It is situated in an ideal location, close enough to all the attractions, but far enough away that it is quiet at night.

The only negative point is that they could offer a slightly bigger choice and variety at breakfast. 4 mornings of ham, cheese and tomatoe was too much. However, eggs and bacon were available if requested.

All in all a great place with great hosts.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank midimanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Address: Moerstraat 72, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $126 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B GUESTROOMS - SPEELMANSREIGENERAL INFORMATION In the course of 2005 and 2006 we rebuilt two historical houses in the heart of the ancient center of Bruges.With modern comfort ad a surplus they were transformed into a single residence with B & B guestrooms.( An elevator is available).During the rebuilding we carefully respected the unique character of the houses and the centuries old rafters were integrated with the architectural concept.You will enjoy the new comfortable bathrooms made of natural raw materials, the marble floors, the basalt washing stands.A separate breakfast room is at the guests' disposal. ROOMS:We have two rooms on the first floor with view on a park.They are both provided with shower and/ or bath, a lavatory, a washing stand with two wash-basins, colour-tv,fridge,wifi internet, a safe and spacious double beds of top quality.Also access to the rooms by elevator. BREAKFAST:In the separate breakfast room an extensive breakfast buffet is served. Every day you can get newly baked French rolls, croissants, different kinds of cheese and sliced meats, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals etc. LANGUAGES We make ourselves hard in Dutch, French, Italian, German, English, Spanish and Danish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing