We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Myself and my cousin have just spent 5 days at this bed and breakfast. We had excellent hosts who were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was first class and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. We had a packed lunch one day which was good. Overall a great choice for visiting the world war 1 battlefields and cemeteries, excellent hosts and great accommodation. Highly recommended, 5 stars. Keith Holderness.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is conveniently placed about 15 mins outside of Ypres and has parking directly outside but also there is a car park just across the road. The rooms are a good size with all amenities expected from a foreign hotel and the bathroom was the biggest I have seen at any hotel. The owners were very friendly, with Stijn having a half hour game of table tennis with me which was very pleasant.

The breakfast was the best that I have ever had at a hotel anywhere. There was a large variety of different pastries which were all freshly made (they were piping hot when we came down for brekkie), there was cake and cereals and selection of juices all of which were lovely. I would come back to this hotel purely for the breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twunky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, beautiful area, fab service. Wow.

Breakfast was lovely, check in and out was great the kids were amazed at the roll top bath I couldn't get them out!

Overall we all enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I would like to say that I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Very warm and helping innkeepers. Nice, comfortable, clean and spacious rooms I can recommend. I hope I'll visit this place soon. All the best

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Everything in my previous review of this fabulous B&B is still as good but Stijn and Nele just get better! They really could not be more helpful. Nothing more to say other than I have already booked for my next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildunwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stijn and Nele provided a wonderful warm welcome to a couple of overheated bikers. A cooling beer and welcome, tasty snack were just what we needed (they have a cafe too, open all days except Tuesdays). The place is a sympathetically modernised former town hall and the bikes could be securely locked up at night.
Poelkapelle is worth a walk round to see the, inevitable but worthwhile, mementoes to WW1, not least the impressive Guynemer memorial; a French air ace. Very handy for Ieper (Ypres), Passchendaele and other memorial sites.
Stijn and Nele provide a lovely, varied breakfast each day and even found time to show us a couple of bars.
Cannot recommend highly enough

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stijn and Nele went the extra mile for me, even providing me with a last minute taxi service - highly recommended B&B. The friendly and 'can do' attitude was a blessing for an old, tired, wet biker - breakfast was pleasant and ample, the room was modern, clean and tidy, the bathroom the same. Overall, I would happily return, this time with my wife and car!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTerry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Flanders Province hotels
5.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
821 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
324 reviews
5.5 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Greenhouse B&B
Greenhouse B&B
#2 of 2 in Poelkapelle
12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Varlet Farm
Varlet Farm
#1 of 2 in Poelkapelle
489 reviews
3.7 mi away
Back2Front B&B
Back2Front B&B
#1 of 1 in Boezinge
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle

Address: Guynemerplein 5 | Poelkapelle, 8920, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 844 B&Bs / Inns in West Flanders Province
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse 't Oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle Belgium/Flanders - West Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing