We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere”
Review of Improvisio

Improvisio
Ranked #113 of 511 Restaurants in Leuven
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Situated in a medieval monastery, the location is outstanding. Complemented by good service, the waitress served us promptly

Good unique food although in our case it was served partially colder than it should have been. Unfortunately the restaurant isn't so flexible for people with special dietary needs or vegetarians. There is a great fixed menu but everyone has to select it.

Personally I was slightly disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sjainslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2017

I was with an international group. We booked in advance. It was freezing outside and we really appreciated arriving in the warm, welcoming atmosphere this restaurant radiates. We were seated in the main room, opposite of the bar (the restaurant has several individual rooms). We had the Market Menu... which was truly excellent. Quality food, well prepared and nicely presented, great taste. And... truly outstanding service from the young waiter, who was professional, knowledgeable and extremely friendly, helpful and made us all feel welcome and at home. Thumbs up ! A very pleasant surprise !

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MDBGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

It was after work business dinner and this place was recommended to us at the hotel. We walked into the restaurant and after being greeted by the staff, we have been shown the way to the back garden. It was small, but lovely place with just few tables.

Our waitress was speaking English and helped us to choose the food and recommended some local beers. I had fillet steak which was prepared as I like it (rare).

Overall, we have been very positively surprised especially when it came to paying the bill. It is really nice place, with great food in reasonable price.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luka-Cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food and place! I did not know what to expect and I was super positively surprised with the food quality and the service.
Not cheap, but totally worth it.
If you're around Leuven, do not hesitate!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank BertaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We had a diner on the terrace, nice place, professional service and the best thing was fooooood! Everything was delicious! We took the market menu (3 service for only €45) and were totally seduced by the presentation of the plates and the wonderful taste. Everything look and taste very fresh. Definitly a place tout try!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank GlobeTrotter7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabian D, Owner at Improvisio, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Hello, my team and I wonna thank you for your visit, your review and hope to see you back in the near future. Regards, Fabian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Improvisio also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Improvisio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing