We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, great food, wonderful wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zarza

Zarza
Ranked #4 of 410 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $148
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Elegant, great food, wonderful wine”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved this restaurant. Subdued, well spaced tables, fabulous food, unpretentious and gracious staff. We would recommend the 3,4 or 5 course meals - 3 course was enough for us and was absolutely sublime food, and the selected 'matched' wines option was economical and really great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    101
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oh my god”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Go here ...don't think...just go! The food on the prix fixe menu was out of this world accompanied by a wine selection. Staff fantastic, and funny in any language.
Nothing was too much trouble and had great food and a great evening

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The waiting time was horrible. It took about 20 min before our orders were taken. We requested for the wine list twice till someone of our table decided to go to the front. The wine chosen was not available and was replaced by another wine without informing us. It was only after the wine was served that we noticed the subtle difference in taste. No apology was given. It's a real pity this happens in a restaurant which is considered a better one in Leuven. The pacing of the food was ok, although one of the dishes served to our guests was tepid. The experience was no good value for money at all. It was sad to see that staff didn't take pride in their job. Maybe it wasn't their best day, but still professionalism towards paying customers should be a minimum. Maybe they thought that we were just passing through leuven & less attention could therefore be given to us, compared to the locals. Unfortunately, over the years, I've been several times to this restaurant and can only conclude that there's a serious personnel crisis in this establishment. It's sad to see a good name destroyed by the front end of the operation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barasso, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, but worth it”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been there for lunch, the place was rather packed. You definetivly have to book. the atmosphere is modern/design but cosy. Friendly staff. Nice food and nice wine. The chesse plate was really good, some unusual choices. Nice wine list. Good location, just on Bongenotenlaan. I would advice to book a table under the glass roof.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reserve and Go!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wonderful, very busy restaurant. Don't leave it to chance -- book a reservation before arriving!

The atmosphere is cozy and always feels like "the place to be"!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarza also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Heverlee, Leuven
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Zarza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing