We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting”
Review of 't Fonduehuisje

't Fonduehuisje
Ranked #145 of 415 Restaurants in Leuven
Cuisines: European, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

smells with oil not tasty not recommended
Service was ok but food and smells inside is disgusting((((
even if my friends pays I do not go to this place anymore NEVER

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank White W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    54
    30
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Serviceless rip off”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to 't Fonduehuisje with a group of 12 people, and all of us were disappointed one way or another. First of all the tables are really small: to sit down, we had to squeeze in between a 15 cm gap between wall and table. We arrived 10 min later than the rest of our group, but waiters didn't even ask if we still wanted an aperitif. On the contrary, we nearly sat down and they already wanted to take meal orders, and commanded us to change places (More practical for them while serving food). Food came in really quickly, however rather disappointing. Meat did not taste bad at all, but was not of high quality and hardly marinated, the bowl of vegetables only contained mainly lettuce (1 piece of tomato, 1 thin slice of cucumber and 5 grains of corn pp), and we hardly got any fries. When we ran out of meat, fries or sauces and ordered some new ones, waiters seemed to forget us, so we had to ask it quite a few times. Same for drinks, moreover the waiters didn't seem to be capable of doing their job. Our drinks were repeatedly offered to other tables, while drinks of other tables were offered to us... Finally I would also like to mention this place is seriously overpriced: the bill will be over 30 euro (pp) for some lower quality flesh, some lettuce, an (overpriced) drink and hardly any service.

However if you still decide to go this place, take into account there is hardly any ventilation, so your clothes will smell, and your eyes will be teary because of the smoke.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent evening: All you can eat fondue”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited the restaurant with a group of 16 people and ordered the all you can eat fondue option. This includes either meat fondue, seafood fondue or cheese fondue and drinks (all but the more expensive specialties). We shared so I could try all three fondue variants and they all were excellent. The meat (pork, beef, chicken) came marinated and was fried in extremely hot oil giving it a tasty crust. The seafood (different fishes, crabs, shrimps, really good and expensive stuff) was cooked in boiling vegetable soup, I have never seen such a seafood fondue but it was really, really good. The cheese fondue came already melted in a bowl with bread to take up the cheese. Sides were Potatoes and fries. Everything was really good. Only minor down: The waiters could be a bit faster, we often had empty glasses. If I had to choose between the three variants, I would probably go for seafood but all three are great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azzraelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A good fondue experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We went there in a bigger group (8 ppl) but still we got served quickly and friendly!
A good variety of choices.
One of us is lactose intolerant, so she took the fish-fondue, which was great!
The rest of us took the cheese-fondue. And even though we had some good eaters with us, the plates with fish and meat were more than enough.
The wine was very good too.
As a dessert I took the sabayon, which was perfect.
A very tasty dinner, we're definitely going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good for fondue lovers”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Large restaurant in a cosy atmosphere. Service was very good with lots of different fondues on the menu. On the negative side, it was a bit overpriced. But if you're really fond of fondue, this restaurant serves you well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Fonduehuisje also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to 't Fonduehuisje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing