We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Seventeenth Century Stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Groot Begijnhof

Groot Begijnhof
Reading, Pa. USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Seventeenth Century Stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have often strolled the cobbled streets around the Grott Begijnhof and always find it intriguing and delightful. While the houses themselves belong to the university I would urge visitors to visit the chapel of Sint John. Be sure, however, to check the hours. It is a lovely 17th century Baroque chapel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbarafahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    245
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Old but gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

If you're in Leuven, take a step back in time and visit this 'town within a town'. Lots of old buildings, from centuries ago. Worth a quick visit and doesn't take long to walk around!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dru989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Groot Begijnhof is now part of the University housing. It is lovely to see the old residences occupied.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherinebando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Griot Begijinhof”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

A town within a town. Nothing there re. Shops or anything but medieval houses, convents, cobbled streets, very peaceful. Worth a visit but watch what shoes you wear because the uneven cobbles aren't easy to walk on!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackieJarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,404 reviews
564 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
“A walk back in time in Leuven's wonderful UNESCO Heritage Site.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had a spare hour when on a business trip to Leuven and so decided to give the UNESCO World Heritage site of "Groot Begijnhof" a visit. I am so glad I did as it really was a place of peace, quiet and amazing historic beauty.

Quaint cobbled streets, old period houses, bridges over streams, churches, window boxes and lanterns... A photographers haven and a great place to sit and relax.

One Tip: If you are old and / or unstable on your feet, in a wheelchair or pushing a kids buggy you may have problems with the streets as they are cobbled and I even turned my ankle over a couple of times and I'm able bodied. So if any of these apply to you it may not be a suitable place for you to visit.

If you want a snack or a drink try the "Bar Del Sol" on the edge of the town not far from the old church... It's really good, see my review.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groot Begijnhof also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Groot Begijnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing